Roman holiday


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 14th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There's a reason, many in fact, tHat the Romans were world leaders,conquerors, for over twenty centuries. This city is magnificent, the scale of buildings and art pieces are larger than life.the pantheo was surrounded by regular buildings, with the Italian stock exchange (a former pagan church, a different kind of worship going on there!) just down the way. Every block seems to have a fountain, or sculpture or an image engraved in the building. Most of which are catholic in nature, though some pagan artifacts are still about.

The Trevi Fountain is one of those sites that is really worth the hype, while the Spanish steps were just in fact, steps. Interesting history, but, well just steps! The area around those two attractions is flooded with dolce and gabana, Prada, Gucci and other bullcrap that apparently matters, that I apparently should give a damn about.

The colosseum and ruins around it are astronomical in their size! I mean seriously we are taking aboutfive or more football fields long full of ruins. I am on awe of their architectural skills.

Now onto the site that is by far my absolute favorite in Italy, vatican city. This city will blow your mind. It's the smallest country in the world, with the Pope having all the power we divide between our three branches. I said a prayer in st. Peters basilica, a beautiful building, only surpassed in beauty by the Sistine Chapel and Michealangelo's Last Judgment. I could have easily spent a full day in that one room, exploring the detail, crinking my neck. No pictures are allowed within that famous room, and Italian ushers run around shushing people and yelling "quiet please!". The Vatican, though they allow tacky souvenir stands within the chapels, will refuse you entry if you are dressed like a skank (looking at you twenty something Canadian and American girls). You must cover your shoulders and have a decent length on your shorts or skirt or they will refuse you entry.

I'm at a hostel now, one which is probably not a good choice for me since it prides itself on being a major party place. Everyone is so young here, and I can't understand how it is cool to drink yourself silly throughout Europe. But, I am traveling alone and have a different mindset I guess, where I don't want to have to rely on someone elseto get me home safely and well I don't know how I would pay for it all either!! I had a travel blunder today that cost me twenty euros and it almost made me cry, that's my food budget for today and tomorrow!

I've been on the road over a month now, and I know I'm homesick as crap. Ive made the most of my time here, but I do believe I'm ready to move onto the Middle East. Tomorrow I plan to go and see the ruins of Pompeii, and the next day I will fly out.



Sorry no pics for now, Internet is crap, though it's freest I won'tcomplain too much! I do miss you, my friends and family.

Advertisement



14th June 2012

right there with you
Just wanted you to know that I am loving every stop of your trip and feel like I am right there with you!! Homesick?? For all the sagebrush and dust filled air........you charge on girlfriend and take an extra deep breath for me-L
14th June 2012

Will do!
I was accepted into my program so now I am feeling the urge to get home and get life going, of course that will be after I finish seeing a few more things! I love your comments Linda, thanks, Amber
14th June 2012

TRIP
AMBER YOU ARE A BRAVE GIRL, HAVE FUN AND ENJOY YOURSELF. I AM ENJOYING READING YOUR STORIES. MISS YOU. LOVE PATTI
14th June 2012

Thanks Patty!
I hope your summer is going nicely!
15th June 2012

And we (Wrigley and I ) miss you!
15th June 2012

vicariously
Amber I am going to all of the places I've always wanted to go.....with your help and on your dime :-) You may feel like you are all alone but if you only knew how those of us back home eagerly await your next postings. Can't wait to see you in Vegas with all of your stories and pictures. Stay safe and treasure your time!
15th June 2012

Thanks Sherry!
Today I asked a girl if she was homesick after being on he road six months and he said ' no'. I know that I have a great life at home and I also know that wherever, no place beats the states! Tomorrow off to Jordan!
15th June 2012

vicariously
Amber I am going to all of the places I've always wanted to go.....with your help and on your dime :-) You may feel like you are all alone but if you only knew how those of us back home eagerly await your next postings. Can't wait to see you in Vegas with all of your stories and pictures. Stay safe and treasure your time!

Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb