Day 28 - Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 15th 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhh Rome. The capital of Italy. Home of the Vatican. Full of fountains and statues and more rennaisance art than you can shake a stick at.

I arrived in the pouring rain after getting to Naples via the circumvesuviana with Mitch. We split at Naples as he was getting on a fast train to Rome and then onwards whilst I was getting a slower train that left before his but got in afterwards.

Anyway, I found my hostel, unpacked my stuff and got changed into some warmer and dryer clothing. However, when I arrived at my destination it had brightened up and was baking again. Oh well.

I actually had plans of a sort for my time in Rome. Today I started off with the Pantheon, which is just as impressive as it's reputation says. I also had a wonder across the river. I then went and had a look at bernini's Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi (Fountain of the four rivers), celebrating the 4 great rivers of the papal controlled lands when it was built, the Danube, the Plate, the Ganges and the Nile.

I then sat down for a cheap menu deal meal, which was OK. Then I headed back to the hostel for a relatively early night, as I was rather tired.

Advertisement



23rd May 2011

Great trip
It would be wonderful if you would add some photos.
30th May 2011

Photos
I will definitely be uploading photos. However, this will probably happen when I get home. Mainly because it takes 2 hours to upload a set of photos (give or take) and in a lot of the hostels internet time is either limited or charged. But I will most definitely upload photos, as I have taken almost 2000 photos in the 5 and a half weeks I've been out

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb