When in Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 13th 2011
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I apologize for the lack of updates, but we have been traveling like crazy trying to see as much of Italy in as few days as we can.

Our first stop, after leaving Switzerland, was the northern coast of the Mediterranean. We stayed in the Cinque Terre ("five lands"), in the tiny town of Riomaggiore. Along with Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, and Manarola, it is one of the five little towns that are built into the coastal cliffs. We spent one evening relaxing and walking the "Via dell Amore". The second day we hiked to each of the other towns (about 5 miles through vineyards and lemon orchards), and finally ended up in Monterosso where we spent a few relaxing hours on the beach.

The next day we decided to save some time by seeing Pisa and Florence in one day. We took an early morning train to Pisa in order to see the infamous leaning Tower of Pisa, then hopped on another train to Florence to check out the Duomo. After spending a couple hours enjoying the "best gelato in Italy", we took an evening train to Rome where we spent two nights.

The first night we went to bed early, knowing that we would be powering through an entire day of Roman sight-seeing on Friday the 13th. We started off the morning by taking the metro to Vatican City. The Vatican Museum took about 3 hours of our visit, 30 minutes of which were spent staring up at the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel. It was breath-taking, to say the least. Several people we had met had encouraged us to see the city on foot, so we walked from Vatican City to the Pantheon, from the Pantheon to the Fountain of Trevi, then from the fountain to the Colosseum. And who says you can't see Rome in a day? 😊

We finished off our evening with a wonderful outdoor pasta dinner under the moon. So far my favorite type of pasta is gnocchi-- a fluffy pasta made from potatoes, and Nick is quite fond of the tortellini. As for sauces, I haven't been able to resist 'real' Italian pesto. Nick likes them all. 😊

Hope you enjoy our pictures! We're heading to Venice tomorrow, then to Austria with Prague and Germany to follow.

Take care!!
Laura


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



13th May 2011
Photo 11

love your blog
Hi Laura & Nick, your mom gave me the link for you blog and I wanted to let me know how much I am enjoying it. I guess I am getting a taste of your european adventure through it. The photos have been beautiful. love aunt mel
14th May 2011

I wanna go
Hi Nick and Laura Your blog is the coolest postcard I've ever received! Your pictures make me very jealous. I think if I found a restaurant that had excellent gnocchi and wine that I'd change my plans and spend a week there, fattening up. The world can wait... for me and my gnocchi ;) Lisa and I golfed with Karen and Alan last Friday. Without gnocchi we had to resort to grilled salmon and an overabundance of fine wine. We had fun playing golf without keeping score. That way we can focus on the company and conversation without being interrupted with "math problems" every fifteen minutes or so ;-) Keep up the great blog! Randy and Lisa
14th May 2011

I wanna go
Hi Nick and Laura Your blog is the coolest postcard I've ever received! Your pictures make me very jealous. I think if I found a restaurant that had excellent gnocchi and wine that I'd change my plans and spend a week there, fattening up. The world can wait... for me and my gnocchi ;) Lisa and I golfed with Karen and Alan last Friday. Without gnocchi we had to resort to grilled salmon and an overabundance of fine wine. We had fun playing golf without keeping score. That way we can focus on the company and conversation without being interrupted with "math problems" every fifteen minutes or so ;-) Keep up the great blog! Randy and Lisa
15th May 2011

Love your Blogs and pictures!
Hi, Laura and Nick -- I am now home from the rehab "home" - doing a lot better -- I am thrilled by your pictures and stories..Laura, you are truly a wonderful writer...I love you guys!!! Stay healthy and having a wonderful time. Hugs and Love, G'ma Nonie and Grandpa Dave

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb