Rome (Again) Day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

“Gee these aircraft are quiet these days” was my first comment to R this morning when we woke. Her response “Yeh the new flat beds are great!” Much laughter and banter followed as it has throughout the day!

First up was a call to Koreanair, yes we are on the Wednesday night flight @ 8.20pm Rome-Seoul, and there are 2 flights out of there to oz, one to Sydney and one to Brisbane, however they are fully booked and we are wait listed. Apparently they are pretty confident that we’ll land in oz as people miss there flights all the time!!! (really?)!

That sorted we had a great brekkie at the hotel and then off to wander. We had left a toiletry bag each back in Praiano as we wanted to lessen the weight and so offloaded things such as shampoo, conditioner, cleanser, etc as we wouldn’t need them as we were flying home, right? Rome is also way cooler than when we were here last and the heat wave has turned quite cool during the night and mornings. Of course I sent home 3 pairs of trousers and kept 1 as it was so hot at the time and R has done a similar thing with her clothes so we were on the hunt for warm ones.

Not much luck in that department so it’s back to hand washing and again as we were on our way home most of our stuff needed washing…all this just adds to the comedy really!

We stoped near the Spanish Steps for lunch and afterwards climbed and sat and soaked up the sun for a while. We started to make our way back to the hotel for a bit of a nap as we were both a bit wiped from the previous day and night.

After a nap R went back to one of the stores that we visited in the morning and I followed a bit later. Tried on some pants but it seems everyone in Rome that is my size must be 6 foot tall as the legs we way too long. (Can’t believe I’m writing about rival crap like this when we are in Rome!) I headed off to find a Levis shop I’d seen earlier and found a pair there that I liked was anything but slim fitting (seems that’s all they make here). As no-one was available to help me find my size, etc, I left. The shop assistants here aren’t big on service I noticed and wouldn’t survive in oz I don’t think.

I kept walking down via de costa which is the main road in the heart of Rome that leads to the Piazza di Popolo. I sat for about half an hour just taking in the sights and having to pinch myself that I was sitting in Rome and not on a plane!

I started to walk back and by this time all the shops were starting to close as it was now 8pm. I walked the full length of the via de costa and then back to where our hotel is where R was at reception writing a note to say where she was eating.

We had dinner opposite the Pantheon and street performers come and do their stuff for the various restaurants around the Piazza. Tonight there was a mime/comedian, a violinist and an opera singer. The opera singer was excellent so I bought his CD.

Yet another gelato and then back to the hotel for sleep!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb