Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 4th 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I loved Rome! Nice big city. I've given up on being the super traveler. I'm museumed out so to speak. So what do I see? The Vatican. Talk about lots of art and stuff. The Sistine Chapel was cool. I swear the images got bigger the more you stared. Maybe it was the heat and the crowds of people. I felt like a sardine on canning day. The room was stuffed! Rafaels rooms were also very cool.
My favorite however, were the Roman ruins. The Collosseum and Palentine Hill (Caesar's palace) were stinkin old. Palentine hill still had marble floors lying in the grass just no palace.... The fountains were still there too. The Romans cerainly went all out in the name of entertainment. I took a tour and learned about Gladiators and the races at Circus Marximus and other things. A typical meal at Casears house included 20 or 30 courses. I think vomitoriums at that point are mandatory! Turns out most of ancient Rome suffered from lead poisoning due to the lead pipes the put inside their aquaducts. This would explain the infertility, life expectancy of 40 and a couple of crazy caesars. Speaking of Caesars the tour guide said she'd had a lady the day before insist that the real Caesars Palace was in Las Vegas because she'd been there and seen it herself. Crazy Canadian tourists.... : )
older than the Roman stuff I saw the Catholic stuff and cracked myself up all day at what I could only call evil in such a revered place to some. I sent postcards... holy mail. : ) They sold holy golfballs at the gift shop. You'd think the pope spit on them himself for what they were charging.... The popes got quite a shopping mall surrounding his compound. Of course all of Europe has seized upon the tourist gift shop idea.
So anyways, I also saw the Spanish steps at sunset which was a highlight. If you climb the stairs all the way up to the church you can see a great view of Rome. I also saw the Trvie Fountains and ate a ton of gelato. In my opinion gelato makers are blessed among men. I looove the gelato. I saw the mouth of truth in the pitch black of night through bars because it had already closed. So I lied and stuck my hands through the bars instead. He didn't bite me. : )



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb