Having A Fun On National Bologna Day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
October 25th 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday (24 October, 2012) the National Bologna Day was being celebrated with its real zeal & zest. All the day was excellent due to having the eventually traditional lunch at Hotel Touringat Bologna city. However, this event is not specified for only Bologna city, but being celebrated in all across the Italy, but to get its real essence , I supposed, one must hang on in Bologna city because Bologna better suits Bologna.

Well, the kids and moms are pretty familiar with Bologna lunch, but it would be much better yet informative to share this excitement with you, yes, for those who are not yet familiar with Bologna lunch. Bologna is a kind of round cut sausage, depends on your choice or preferences either you like to eat pork, beef, or chicken meat sausage. Bologna is called by pretty excited names such as the Regular Bologna, German Bologna, Beef Bologna, Kosher Bologna, and many more. All the hotels in Italy, specifically in Bologna city offer the special lunch and dinner parties of National Bologna Day. People love to enjoy this delicious sausage and roam out all the day to explore the cultural taste of Italian foods and traditions. Not only the national visitors, but also the tourists from the neighboring countries visit Bologna and other cities to celebrate this day.

Despite the traditional existence and celebration of this day at national level, the Bologna Day has not any official or historical background, but being celebrated with great passion. According to my research, as I did during my tour to Italy, coincidentally I am in Bologna so was so excited to know more about the history of National Bologna Day. Now days, I have a stay at the Hotel Touring, and yesterday when I ordered a lunch, while asking about today’s menu I got know that today its Bologna Day and the special meal was at lunch. I was pretty excited about tasting this delicious meal, after having a look at it, I said Ahh! I ate it like hundred & hundred times, so what was the new about it?

Well, this special Bologna meal tended me to explore about the day, these people celebrate. I decided to meet people, those were having a meal at a hotel that time, for this I waited for about 2 hours as they were not supposed to take Bologna meal only, they were seen like they want to do something more after taking meal. I could catch them right after the meal, but it looked awkward to make trouble or invite them to question & answer rounds like investigation. However, they went on music parties, to make this day memorable and excited a bit more. But I got an unforgettable meeting with a family over there. They took me to roam about Bologna city and I really enjoyed a lot with them. My hidden purpose was to know about the origin of Bologna Day, but I guessed it was better to keep quiet and keep on roaming with them because I was also willing to enjoy.

While we were at Mercanzia Palace (built in 1390), a beautiful and classical Gothic shaped palace, I asked them a reason of their today’s visit. They replied excitedly, “we are celebrating Bologna in Bologna”. And we kept laughing together up to the end of our meeting. They went to their home as they also live in Bologna and I came back to my hotel. Well, they told me about the day and special food, but one interesting thing is I got nothing but same information which I already know about it due to my own research, but I cannot forget that special evening I spent with them.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb