Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
August 8th 2005
Published: August 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HiltonHiltonHilton

Yes it is a tourist resort, but fruit trees all over the courtyard, a complimentry bottle of the local drink, the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen, and excellent staff made it easy to relax and let the travel stress go.
OK yesterday the first half was a frustraiting and the second half was great as I took a vacation from roughing it. The first half of the day was at the airport arguing with the ticket counter and making arrangements for flying out early which is tough because Naples doesnt have a counter for Luftunsa or United which is who I am flying on. I would call the airline support number and they would tell me it should be no problem, but the Italians at the counter said they couldn't change my date and refused to call the airline to speak to them about it.

After a long time in the hot phone- internet shop making plans. I was able to cash in my Hilton points and had just enough for a one night stay at the VERY plush Hilton Palace in Sorento. Ahhhhh!!! It was awesome with something like 6 pools, and amazing balcony view and Luxury at its finest, would have cost $340 a night too, so I was a good place to cash in a freebe. I am pretty sure I was the only backpacker at the place by the look I got when I said I
balcony viewbalcony viewbalcony view

Not to shabby and actually the least expensive day yet.
had no luggage.

Today I am staying in Sorrento again at a pensione and renting a scooter. Tomorrow I am flying to Finland. I was going to today, but the weather there doesnt look any good and I am having a good time here so I decided to stay.

Times like this I am thankful I have spent so much time in the states on all kinds of motorcycles on and off road. It made driving a scooter here seem like a piece of cake compaired to tight mountian trails while other tourists were unable to keep up. The test thing to do if find a local and follow him. He will open a path and show you what is acceptable and what isn't. Hint: if you can fit the scooter through it is probably acceptable. I got lucky because the guy I was following along a nice twisty coastal road headed down some little side rode. It turned into a dirt parking area for a place popular with the locals to go swimming. I must admit my nortic body looked pretty white and I stood out pretty well among the tanned and gorgeous locals. I had a
balcony view leftbalcony view leftbalcony view left

Not to shabby and actually the least expensive day yet.
great time playing in the sea and it bobbed my up in down in the waves. It was the first time in saltwater in the last 2 years and the weather was perfect. Now this is the paradise I was looking for! Still, have been unable to really engage the locals in conversation though.
Cheers,
CiaĆ²,
Pip pip.
Garret



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

bandband
band

The good news is there was a free band in the downtown square. The bad news is they were playing "smoke on the water" "cocaine" and "mustang sally" obviously catering to the over the hill American crowd that keeps the city rolling in their excessive incomes.
fireworksfireworks
fireworks

There were two fireworks shows, no idea why but it was a nice suprise
swimming holeswimming hole
swimming hole

This was the best part of the trip so far. I spent pretty much all day here in and out of the water. Chairs are provided and there is an ice cream stand too.
swimming hole2swimming hole2
swimming hole2

Getting in and out of the water is a fun challange
right off the roadright off the road
right off the road

miles and miles like this. Lonely Planet is wrong DO go see the Amalfi coast, skip Naples


11th August 2005

Amalfi coast
Glad you finally had a good day in Italy. Thanks for the advice about seeing the coast and skipping Naples. That first picture (of the Hilton, plus the comment) is a great testimonial..maybe if you crop it to them they will give you a complimentary night stay. Hope your stay in Finland is fun with good socialization.

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb