One kick ass Party for Sant Alfonso and a day on Capri!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Calabria
August 2nd 2012
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last night we ended up skipping mass, there were so many people and it was so hot so we waited for mass to finish then we, like all of the other locals, stormed the food line which was just a random line that everyone butted in on. I think I nearly took out one of the nuns in my quest for a kebab. The food and wine were both free and endless but getting the food was rather an adventure so we had very little of it and then the band began to play and the dancing started. I lucked out and Nona the 93 year old grandmother was my partner! That old gal can cut a rug for sure! She was going great guns even by the time we went to bed. Under the stars we danced and laughed and sang and had a superb time of it. Near the end, I think somewhere around midnight, there were fireworks right above us. John kept telling me not to look up because there was stuff falling from them but how was I to see them? They were red and white mainly and lovely. After that we went to bed and just crashed!

Up at 7:00 we were on our little private busses again by 8:00 to catch the ferry to the Island of Capri. WOW! What a glamourous and expensive place! Clearly the playground of the very rich. The yachts we saw were fantastic. At first, John and Brenna and myself just wandered around the town. We hiked up to the top of the island and bought a lemonade. It cost 10 euros!!! There were all kinds of very fancy shops and all of them had very fancy prices. We went back down to the shore and rented ourselves a boat and made the rest of the day into a trip around Capri. We swam in the sea and saw the Blue Grotto, lovely caves interesting rock formations. All the while is was blazingly hot--but whenever we got too hot we pulled over for a dip in the sea. The sea-- is the most beautiful shade of blue and it is clear and VERY salty. It is also very warm. This was the best way to spend the time we had in Capri for sure. It was relaxing and fun. We were back onto the ferry to come home and now here it is 6:29 and my husband, bless his dear soul has just brought me a lovely glass of red wine while I lounge here and write this blog. I should really make an effort to upload the photos...but perhaps another time!

Tomorrow is our last hike: The Walk of the Gods. I am looking forward to this hike. It is one of the most scenic in the world but I doubt it will be better than yesterdays hike. BUt yesterday's hike was not for everyone that is for sure. Tomorrow it is only a little bit of a hill climb then we are basically along the coast all the way to Positano. I am looking forward to Positano. Today in Capri I bought myself the cutest little white eyelit lace dress and with only my Italian leather loafers left on my quest for stuff to bring home I may score in Positano. I may wait until we are back in Rome because I know exactly the place to go there but hey...It is our last day on the Amalfi and it is truly the best of Italy right here. The vacation spot for all Italians and as a result the best of Italy can be found in these quaint, cool towns. This is a truly beautiful spot and aside from maybe Tuscany (and Tudcany doesn't have the water...) I can't think of a place that would be better.

Ciao-caio...nan

Advertisement



2nd August 2012

Age
you have to get that 93 yr. old's secret to old age, I bet it's wine, pasta and garlic...love you...Dad
5th August 2012

You r right
Nona eats like a horse...she never stops

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb