Dr Baldy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Basilicata » Matera
April 14th 2008
Published: April 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dr BaldyDr BaldyDr Baldy

'nuff said
Hands up at the outset, I have had a little bit to drink and no food and I've done heaps of cycling, so. I'm in a most extraordinary place. Matera. Little Mel Gibson was here first, apparently, and filmed Christ being crucified (usual quip about being well hung....) and there's this area called the sassi where folk pretty much used to live in caves. Me too. I've slung the boat out (there being no camping) and shacked up in a hostel, which is one of the caves. I've had a little dilemma today. For the last week I've been heading this general direction, intending to catch a ferry to Corfu, in the assumption that it will be warmer and cheaper, but now I'm on the brink I've got a little confused as to why exactly i am doing all this. I recognise the symptom. It happens every time i have to make a decision, which is why i try to keep decisions to the absolute minimum. And why each decision tends to be accompanied by several large drinks. I find it eases the grey matter, or subdues it sufficiently to retain perspective. There is no boat tomorrow as it happens, so it's either 130 km dash to Brindisi or another night here and the slow boat from Bari. The slow boat is in the lead at present and should have assumed an unassailable lead once I've been to a pizzeria. I've had a few good days. The last 3 campsites I've been to have waived any payment, due to a lack of anything at all other than ground. So, one shower in 4 days courtesy of my water bottles and a j-cloth. I was adopted for one night by a remote community and pitched up to watch the women's 5-a-side contest on a tiny astroturf pitch up a big hill and I've misread my map twice, leading to unexpectedly long days and random stoppings. I finished off the Three Musketeers, traumatised by the evilry of Milady and delighted by the classic lines: "I am too young to die" (but die she must, for she is evil!) and "It was a dark and stormy night." These combine with The Prisoner of Zenda in New Zealand, when Rupert (yes, Rupert) announced "My work here is done."
In a late and lame attempt to lift my own prose to such heights, my blog for tonight is also done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb