Day 21: Last Day in Otranto


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Otranto
June 14th 2012
Published: June 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today is our last day in Otranto 😞 I did some laundry, blogged and wrote postcards this morning. It was warm and beautiful, with a breeze starting to blow. By afternoon there were whitecaps and very rough water in the bay. This was our first mild taste of how rough a storm could be.



Today was my visit with the art critic, Lucio Pozzi, at 10:30 am. He is an excellent critic and artist, and found relevant issues to discuss with each person. I found the 30 minutes very worthwhile and gained some new perspectives on my theme of aging. He thought my work was really about “visuality” and not aging… something to think about!



I cleaned up my studio space and left it for the next person. I waited for Federico to pick up the printer and to give him my cyanotype materials, and instructions for using the materials. He was excited about my gift of a piece of gum bichromate made here in the castle. He is a real asset to the BAU program.



Gary slept again until 1:00 (2 days in a row)! He is finally catching up after a long semester. We ate lunch on the balcony and walked to our favorite gelato store down on the waterfront. It is so beautiful, fun just to LOOK at the gelato!!! It is very rich so we split a small cup. Gary went home to the apartment and took a nap!



I went to the internet for several hours to catch up. Then I started packing… ugh. I left most of my art materials and hoped the bag would be lighter, but that didn’t happen. That white linen dress I bought must weigh 10 lbs.!!!



Martha took us out for drinks around 7:00pm at the Spinnaker Bar. It is always fun to watch the sun set over the harbor from there. We talked to the first Americans we have seen in our two weeks in Otranto. They had rented a car and were daytripping with their 2 teenagers from a resort north of us.



We were confused about the time for dinner… one person told the group 8:00 pm and another 9:30 pm. We went at 8:15 just in case, but it was wrong. We ended up strolling around town, looking
Seafood Soup!!!Seafood Soup!!!Seafood Soup!!!

Fantastic!
for a mail box for our postcards. The town was very lively even at that hour.



The dinner was cooked by Paola’s friend, the “poet fisherman” who is also a farmer. First we heard him recite poetry he had written in Italian, and even I could tell it was about the swallows around the cathedral. Then he brought out a huge pot of spaghetti and sea food stew. Everything was fresh and fabulous…. Again , one of the best dishes I’ve eaten (I keep saying that). Lettuce salad followed. It was a great very late evening!



More Pictures Below


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb