Aosta


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Aosta Valley » Cogne
July 10th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Where did I leave off, I have to apologize for the last post….seeing that I probably could of waited for sobriety to explain my travels.
I have just got home from school, and I can say that Italian is not an easy language.
This weekend was wonderful, and a part of me wishes I were traveling between tiny cities with no real perception of time.
Aosta in an hour and a half with no real plan of what we were going to do. The tiny town draws many tourists, but the cobble stone roads, colorful painted houses, and quaint cafes finally gave me the real stereotypical impression of Italy. Aosta is home to numerous roman ruins; the Roman theater is impressive with the view of the Alps from behind. The air was clean, the sun was shining and I couldn’t wait to get near the mountainside and away from the busy city I live in.
From Aosta we caught a bus to Cogne that is a tiny ski/resort town that is on the base of Parco Nazionale Gran Paradise. Trying to find the information/tourist desk has to be the most difficult with a group of 10 ladies who feel they all know the way to go.
Not go say that I was right, but I was, and we found Information. They only spoke Italian and French in the office; we were pretty much where we started. After spotting a trail map we decided to make the trek. It was amazing to me how many people turned around once we go to the trial, a hike usually means there will be an incline, I guess the ladies were not well versed in outdoor terrain, therefore many of them turned around.
The smell of the crisp mountain air made me the happiest I have been since I have been here. The wild flowers were beautiful, and the sound of the river could have kept me there for hours.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



11th July 2011

Bellisimo!
Looks amazing! love the photos:)xoxoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb