Daily Life at CCI


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » Lanciano
February 20th 2011
Saved: July 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

This is my fourth blog so that means I’ve been here for a month now. It’s cliché I know but time really does fly when you’re having fun. I was thinking about what to include this week when I realized I haven’t really talked about the school and what the heck I am doing here. I thought I should fill you in so you don’t think it’s all just fun and games. So, I took some shots of some of the kids I teach, the school and the classrooms I teach in. I am also including some pics of my beautiful (I do have a balcony that overlooks the street) and spacious loft (sounds so much better than a studio apartment and I do have a cathedral ceiling).
The day begins here with breakfast at the school, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs prepared in a variety of ways and, often, chocolate croissants. I really have to stop talking about the food so much! At 9:15 there are announcements and classes begin at 9:30. My drama classroom is on the top floor so I have to climb 80 steps at least twice a day and, depending on the schedule that day, sometimes it’s
Writer's Craft Writer's Craft Writer's Craft

Students deeply involved in a discussion of poetry (yes I said poetry)
3 times. That’s a good thing; I am walking off some of the food. I have two drama classes; one is 7 students and the other is 15. My Writer’s Craft class is 13 students. The marking load is a LOT lighter than it was at HTS.
At 12:15 we walk about 5 minutes to the restaurant, The Allegria, for lunch, go back for two more classes and are finished at 3:45. Then, the students have after school activities until 4:30 or 5:00 and it’s back to the restaurant for dinner.
The students are, for the most part, just like kids anywhere even though they come from different countries and diverse cultures. Being away from home sometimes makes them a little more difficult to handle but they are mainly decent, friendly kids.
After a LONG dinner which often provides some stimulating conversation, I wend my way home to my little apartment and work on lesson plans, visit the students in study hall to urge them to get their homework done or read on my e-reader which was a great investment – no access to English language books here in Lanciano.
My sister arrived on Friday and this weekend was spent familiarizing her with the area so she can get about on her own while I am at work next week. We are off to Venice Friday morning and Terry will be meeting us there. That is a moment I have been waiting for since I boarded the plane in Toronto. I should have lots to tell you about and some great new pictures next week.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Viw from the window of my drama roomViw from the window of my drama room
Viw from the window of my drama room

That's the Adriatic waaaaaay off in the distance


Comments only available on published blogs

20th February 2011

Enjoying your Blog Chris! Please keep the updates coming :0) Busy here - family room, pool table room & little bedroom torn apart. We took the old dark panelling down & are in the process of installing drywall. Also removing carpets & replacing with hardwood or laminate. Trying to choose colours etc. Lots of advice from Maeghan & Holly ;0) Has been warmish the past few days but a storm apparently on its way tonight. Dennis in Newfoundland overnight. We're going to Bing's in Mexico in March. Maeghan getting BIG. All your pics wonderful but I particularly liked the one of your classroom with the loooooong desk and the one on the beach with the dog. Nice to see Barry too! We were at the Cabin for Super Bowl so didn't enjoy the full football experience with Den's folks there for supper & not at all interested - sigh .... Loved the outcome tho!!!! Do not fall down again - leave it to you Chris!! I wiped out at the Cabin - slipped & fell in the ditch while out walking - could NOT get up - the more I struggled the deeper I sank - of course I was laughing - thank goodness Kim with me or I'd still be there! Vino NOT a factor - lol. Love you - sue
2nd March 2011

You are giving us all the travel bug
Kenny and I are loving your blog....so much information and so many amazing things that you have seen already...we keep saying remember this remember that...Oh we want to be there too....Terry was right it was warm last week but much cooler this week...spring will be here soon we hope. thanks for being so good about bloging every week we really look forward to it. ENJOY ENJOY...love Ginny

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb