A long journey


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

A couple important notes. Sherrie is not with me and it is not 2008. However, it seemed easier to use this blog instead of creating a new one. This computer does not allow pictures so this will not be very exciting.

I left Toronto on Monday at 11:55pm. I had a great flight. Two good movies that I slept through and an empty seat beside me. I landed in Dublin and took a 2 hr train to Belfast. Then I took 2 more trains to arrive in Portrush, which is a little seaside village on the Northern coast. My bed and breakfast is very nice. I arrived at 6:00pm their time, so a mere 13 hrs after I left TO. I slept for a couple hrs and then went for dinner.

Today I met up with three others on the bus. Two ladies were from Scotland and another from Japan, who was currently living in Belgium. I spent the day travelling with them. First we went to Giants Causeway which is a World Heritage Site. It was a very nice walk and I took lots of pictures - which I will add later. Then we went to this rope bridge. Up until then, it was a beautiful day. However, once we had walked over to the bridge it poured. However, since I travelled in Ireland last year, I know not to go anywhere without my raincoat. The bridge was rather shakey but I figured it had held a lot before me -what were the chances it would collapse now. The final stop for the day was at Bushmills Distillery. We did not have time for the tour which was okay with me. We looked around a bit and went to the gift shop.

I am back in Portrush now. It is a lovely little town with lots of shops. The Japanese girl I was with could not imagine that my town - meaning Drayton would be smaller than this. She has no idea!

Tomorrow I will eventually get back to Dublin. I may explore Belfast a bit but only if the train station has luggage storage. I am happy to say my pack is way lighter than last year. It was only 16.7kg in Toronto. It has to be less than 15kg before I fly to Edinburgh as I am travelling Ryans Air. They have silly rules about your checked bag, however, your carry-on can be 10kg.

The U2 concert is on Friday night. I don't have any major plans in Dublin besides the concert. I fly to Edinburgh Sunday morning.

Hope all is well.

Steph


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

DiversDivers
Divers

Every night the local kids appear in the their wetsuits to go swimming, or really just to dive off the sides and avoids the boats. Wetsuits are the answer to cold water!


22nd July 2009

Ireland
I reallly enjoyed my time in Ireland and hope the concert is fun. It is finally warm here
22nd July 2009

rain
Please send us rain in Spain - we are obviously not on the plain as it has been consistently hot and dry. there seems to be water available as they hose down patios and water plants and gardens Have fun Linda
23rd July 2009

enjoy!
Have a great trip. I am sure the concert will be awesome. I look forward to hearing more. Cheers, Mary Ellen
23rd July 2009

U2 in Dublin
Coach Jeffie will be sooo jealous! I love Ryn Air ... the prices are amazing ... and the weight limit helps me pack lighter. Have a great trip, Frank

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb