P.S.I LOVE YOU


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Wicklow » Wicklow
October 31st 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just spent the last week driving through th south of Ireland. So here is the first leg. After a scary landing in windy Dublin we jumped in our hire car, which was upgraded to a very cool Nissan something and headed to The Wicklow Mountains. We stayed in the middle of nowhere at a great family run hostel called Mountain view. Fresh air and drinking water from the local spring. Hospitality was fab. Because we arrived so late they offered us curry and rice with homemade chrissy pudding and cream mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. The Dublin walking group were also staying the night and entertained us around the fireplace with some trditional music. We had arrived in the dark so we were very shocked to awake to the sound of cows and the country was spectacular. It's a shame it was raining but the mist somehow mad it magical and a quick stop at Kevins way along the Military Road drive set the standard for the rest of the trip. We did a bit of a walk at Upper lake in Gledalough but it was freezing, hence the unco-ordinated clothing. This is were they filmed scenes from one of my favourite chicky flicks P.S.
St Kevins WaySt Kevins WaySt Kevins Way

Shame about the rain.
I love you. I was waiting for my tall, dark and handsome Irish man to walk down the narrow road but he must have got held up! Just down the road we came to Glendaloughs Gatehouse, round tower and Cathedral. The tower, built of mica-slate interspersed with granite is about 30 metres high. It's setting amongst the irish green is stunning. After a quick hot chocolate break we drove to Kilkenny to see its famous Castle. I must admit it was a bit of a dissappointment. We walked through it but only a few rooms were open. Wouldn't say it was a must see but it motivated us to move onto wexlow where we spent the night in a local pub speaking to Jimmie or was it Rimmie..... the local fish merchant. What a classic! Oh yeah I also downed the first of many pints of Guiness.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My travel buddy Rita and IMy travel buddy Rita and I
My travel buddy Rita and I

Outside the priests house- local burial site for clergy


2nd November 2009

Beuatiful pics but crappy weather
Nice pictures, I am actually visitng Southern Ireland soon. I leave South Africa on SUnday and considering we are having an awesome summer, the weather in Dublin is beginning to scare me - hopefully it will get better by Monday before I arrive.
4th November 2009

Ohhhhh I love south africa. My favourite destination in the world. Where exactly are you? To be truthful I could not imagine a better time to go to Ireland. The autumn colours are stunning and although some areas are getting cold it's exactly as I imagine Ireland to be. Not really a summer destination in my opinion. Enjoy your travels R

Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb