C'ead Mile Failte.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick
September 24th 2012
Published: September 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Humble abode.Humble abode.Humble abode.

Our little 2 bedroom annex is off the left of the house. Cozy!
After a rowdy and cocktail-filled summer

I'll admit I'd become a bit dumber.

So I packed up my trunk

Full of clothes, books, and junk.

Off to Ireland? Oh, what a bummer. 😉


Yea, that was my first attempt at writing a Limerick since the 5th grade. I'm a bit rusty, but I'm sure that they will improve after a few more weeks here. I've been here in Ireland for almost a month and things are already busy! University of Limerick Orientation, unpacking/moving in, touring the downtown, pub-hopping, welcoming my roomie, and homework!

I have 4 courses this semester: Dance Pedagogy (where we're learning a warm up routine to M.J.'s "Bad". awesome.) Qualitative Research Methods, my Thesis Module, and my Internship Placement. I'll be spending 2 days a week at the Red Hill School for students with Autism. I get to run 30 minute PE classes for 10 classes of kiddos from 3.5-16yrs. AMAZING! It's one of the only schools in Ireland dedicated to Autism and it's just a couple bus rides away from where we're living!

Matt got here on the 18th and was warmly welcomed by the rude awakening that the shower
King John's CastleKing John's CastleKing John's Castle

As seen from the City Center, Limerick.
in our place roughly is the size of a refrigerator box. Sorry 'bout it. Welcome home. Our place is cozy and perfect. We're in a 2 bedroom annex attached to a 5 bedroom house packed full of Irish freshman boys. They're behaving themselves, thus far, so we haven't had to lay the smack down on them. It's not easy getting old. I ain't a sprite little undergrad anymore. No parties allowed! My bedtime is 9pm! Humbug!

Myself, Matt, and 4 of my classmates saw the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren (google it), and Doolin/Galway Bay via Paddywagon Tours last weekend. Our guide, Gabriel ("like the angel" he said right before referring to the motorists who cut off the bus as "terrorists") We had a hilarious day listening to him sing and tell stories about the history of his country. He was so proud to share it all. We spent a couple hours at the cliffs, shooting photos and navigating the sketchy non-railed paths along the edge. It was gorgeous and Matt made sure that we took the inside route, away from the edge, when encountering foot traffic from the opposing direction. You never know when a stranger might sneeze
A river runs through it.A river runs through it.A river runs through it.

Us on the dock at the UL Rowing Boat house. :)
and accidentally lurch into you. Off you gooooo! (morbid. sorry.)

We're headed on a weekend trip to The Ring of Kerry this upcoming weekend. Stay tuned for photos and updates!

Slainte,

Whitney


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Living BridgeThe Living Bridge
The Living Bridge

University of Limerick's famous bridge crossing the river Shannon.
Cliffs of MoherCliffs of Moher
Cliffs of Moher

Just gorgeous. We had great weather, too!
Easy does it!Easy does it!
Easy does it!

Cliff hanging while posing for a photo-op!
O'Brien's TowerO'Brien's Tower
O'Brien's Tower

Landlord's tower from way-back-when.


30th September 2012

Your cliff picture
When I saw you two sitting on the edge of that cliff I freeked. My inner parent kicked in and I was yelling at my computer, \"what are you thinking?\" I hope things are going well, been out looking for leprechauns yet? Pam wants to see some of Ireland when we go to Europe in two years. I would love to send you a gift box. If that sounds good to you I need your address. You can ask Court or Grace if you\'re on the fence, but don\'t let them tell you what it might be.

Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb