Cork to Killarney


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
June 5th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday June 5 – Cork to Killarney - I got up early and quietly got dressed so as not to wake up my two female roommates. Then I went downstairs and did a little rat killing while I drank my tea and ate my banana. It’s 54 degrees and raining outside. It’s cold (for a Texan) inside the hostel and I am wearing my coat. I came downstairs so my roomies could sleep and after 9 I will go back up and gather up my stuff and prepare to head to the airport around 10. It is supposed to be raining for the rest of the week in Killarney so guess I will just have to let it rain. No wonder the grass is so green here.

I’ve had the manager call me a cab for 10 and will take it to the airport to get my rental car. They have a special rate to the airport from the hostel of 15 Euro’s.

I’ve done quite a bit of homework on Killarney and it seems to be an excellent home base location for exploring the southwest of Ireland.

I collected the rental car and drove towards Killarney. On the way there I stopped and checked out the Michael Collins assassination site. There is a monument erected at the site of the Michael Collins assassination. The shots that killed him came from the bushes on the hill to the left of the monument.

I passed through miles of beautiful countryside on the way to Killarney. There was a light rain in the morning but it stopped by mid afternoon. After that the weather In Killarney was beautiful for the rest of the day and evening. Killarney is a beautiful city in a beautiful location. It reminds me of Aspen more than any other place.

I checked into the Railway Hostel in Killarney early and staked out a bottom bunk. Parking was very limited but I got lucky and got a spot next to the hostel. There is free parking overnight after 6 PM and until 11 AM at the bus station parking lot across the street and down about 50 yards as well. If you get there earlier then parking is 1Euro an hour till 18:00 at the bus station parking lot.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Fatal shotsFatal shots
Fatal shots

The shots that killed Michael Collins were fired from the grassy area to the left of the monument.
Free parking 18:00 to 11:00Free parking 18:00 to 11:00
Free parking 18:00 to 11:00

The is free parking at the bus station parking lot after 18:00 in the evening till 11:00 the next morning. Other times it is 1 Euro per hour.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb