Back in Ballinasloe, the plan for next week, and harvesting the turf


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
May 27th 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday was wash dayFriday was wash dayFriday was wash day

There was abundant sunshine Friday and a nice breeze. Just right for drying clothes on the line.
I was back in Ballinasloe for the weekend. I pretty much hung around the house and scanned family pictures and visited with family. I put all the pictures I scanned on an SD card which I will leave here.

Friday was wash day and I went out to the bog with the cousins to check on the turf. They have bought 8 rows of turf which has been cut and is drying. So that it dries correctly they have to go out this week and turn the turf, and then back later and stack it, and then in a couple of weeks they will load it up in a trailer and bring it home to store it. Quite a bit of work. Of course it can be ordered dried and delivered but it cost more.

I talked to Mom and Danny yesterday using Skype for free at 3PM Texas time and it was almost like being there. Since it was free we talked for over 50 minutes.

Today I am going to do another load of wash and repack my bag for heading out again on Monday. I am not looking forward to having to tote that backpack
Brian enjoying the Springlike weatherBrian enjoying the Springlike weatherBrian enjoying the Springlike weather

My cousin Brian enjoying the Springlike weather in the back yard.
again but that goes with traveling. The plan is to go to Galway for a couple of days and look around again. They have an Aquarium there I haven’t seen yet which I will visit this stay. Also I will do the walk at Salthill. I will stay at the Kinlay Hostel in Galway while I am there. www.kinlaygalway.ie I checked it out last week and it was quite nice. In their photo they show a stairs but when I went there the entrance was via the tour place and up an elevator. I will stay there Monday and Tuesday and go to Doolin on Wednesday noon.

I will stay at the Doolin Hostel while in Doolin. www.doolinhostel.com It is supposed to be 6 kilometers from the Cliffs of Moher so the plan is to get settled in and look around the town on Wednesday. On Thursday I plan on walking to the Cliffs of Moher on the trail along the cliffs and then catching the #50 bus back into Doolin for the night. It shows to be about 6km from Doolin to the Cliffs of Moher, about 3.7 miles.

From Galway there is also an express bus #423 which just runs from Galway to the Cliffs of Moher and return for E20. Taking a tour bus is about E28 and since you get a tour guide to explain things and perhaps a bus designed for touring may be a better deal. So those were another couple of options if I had stayed another night in Galway.

Bus Eireann has a web page from which schedules can be printed. http://www.buseireann.ie/ It Sure helps with planning. I have used it extensively on this trip. I considered renting a car but since I am traveling solo and don’t have someone to remind me to stay on the left side of the road considered that the risk of having a “head on” with someone else is too great.

So after catching the #50 bus from the Cliffs of Moher I will explore the town a bit further for the evening and after spending the night at the Doolin hostel will Catch the #337 bus Friday morning to Ennis.

In Ennis I’ll look things over and stay at the Rowan Tree Hostel overnight. www.rowantreehostel.ie Then Saturday morning I will catch the #51 bus at 12:21 and go to Cork
Turf cut and laid out to dryTurf cut and laid out to dryTurf cut and laid out to dry

The turf has been cut and laid out to dry. My cousins have bought 8 rows.
for the weekend. I had planned on going to Limerick but everyone, and I mean everyone, I talked to told me it wasn’t safe. So I figure why chance it and that there are plenty of other things to see in Ireland. More than enough that I will probably run out of time on my 6 week stay this trip before I see most of it.

In Cork I will stay at the Aaran House Hostel for the weekend and Monday and then will have determined where to go after that by then. Monday is a holiday here so it is a 3 day weekend and so should be busy. Hopefully by Tuesday everyone will have returned to their jobs and it will be quieter.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The cut for the turfThe cut for the turf
The cut for the turf

The topsoil is stripped off , then the turf cut out, and then the topsoil is restored.
The last of the washThe last of the wash
The last of the wash

Sunday I did some more wash and repacked my bag for my trip this week.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb