Day 13 – Making it count


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 28th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My last official day in Galway. Bittersweet. I have so loved my time here that it pains me to leave it, but I hope to be back one day to share its beauty with others. The idea of going home is pretty nice too. Don’t get me wrong, I could stay here forever. But sleep and my family will be happily welcomed on Sunday.





Our professor left Galway yesterday so we took it upon ourselves to decide what to do with the last of our time. We chose Finnegan’s, one of the best restaurants in Galway, to celebrate our last lunch. As I sat there, I began to think about the experiences I’ve had here and all of the wonderful people I’ve met. I’m beyond lucky to have had this chance and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.



We spent the rest of the afternoon wandering about the city. We went to the cathedral and got to see the end of a beautiful wedding ceremony. It was a treat. The cathedral itself was a treat as well and even though it isn’t the oldest landmark in Galway, it’s certainly up there as one of the most beautiful.



After some more shopping and a much-needed rest, we went out for a bite to eat before our final performance. The show we saw was Shakespeare’s “A Winter’s Tale”. The same cast that did “Henry V” a few days prior performed it, and it was almost as interesting. Our seats were rather terrible, which is never fun, but we managed. The first act dragged a bit but the company’s interpretation of Act II was marvelous.



It’s hard to explain Galway to someone who’s never been here. It’s a city with a lot of people and things to do, but at the same time it’s a small community of people who love Galway, love Ireland, and love sharing it with visitors. The feeling of being able to walk down the street and everyday see someone you met the night before or someone who you saw in a performance a few days prior, now that’s a cool feeling.



Our last day is going to be spent in Dublin. I have high hopes but I doubt that it will compare to the delightful time I’ve spent here in Galway.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb