Day 11/Day 12 – Winding Down


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 27th 2012
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Since my trip has been quickly coming to an end, I’ve been spending more time out in the city and less time on my computer. Hence, the double blog. I wish I could say I have some overly exciting story about something or another, but the trip has just been progressing as expected.



We went to the Galway Museum on Wednesday to learn a bit more about the lovely city we’ve been staying in. The museum was very telling about what these people have gone through in history. The most interesting thing we discovered is that these people are not people of war. I found this interesting, considering the fact that we as a country tend to run into any war we can find.



Later that afternoon, we piddled around Shop Street and did a bit of souvenir shopping. Nothing too exciting. An afternoon nap ended up being the necessity after that, and we were grateful to have had it.



When we got up, Diana and I went to a lovely pizza place called Trattoria. Although we enjoy spending time with our peers here, it’s also nice to get away for a bit.



The show we saw was called “The Great Goat Bubble”. It was a story about the economic crisis that Ireland (Galway in particular) faced. It was fascinating to see a show that I personally don’t have a direct connection to, but to be there with people that have dealt with the issue first hand.



The highlight of the night was seeing Killian Murphy. I’m sure many of you do not recognize that name, but he’s an actor who is best know for his role in Batman and as other movie villains. He was featured in the Galway Arts Festival last year so he happened to come this year to 2 separate shows that we were at as well. Very cool.



Yesterday (Thursday) we saw the Druid Murphy Cycle. What that means is we saw 3 full-length plays in a row starting a 1:30 pm and ending at 10:30 pm, with a few breaks between. Although the shows were rather phenomenal, it was, needless to say, a long day.



The shows were all different in actual content but alike in subject matter and theme-ality. Each show was done by a combination of people from the theatre company so consequentially, some people were in all 3 shows, which I can’t even imagine doing.



That was my day Thursday. I could get into more detail about the shows but I assume many of you aren’t theatre people so I’ll save that information for when I get home.



Two more days!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.469s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb