Day 10 – A Plethora of Arts


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 25th 2012
Published: July 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sleep is a beautiful thing. I never really think about how much I need it until I have a morning that my alarm has to wake me up from a dead sleep. It’s not the best way to be woken up, but it works. We got up around 10 am for another day of gallivanting through Galway.



Our first stop, aside from lunch, was the Arts Festival art exhibit, located in the middle of an obscurely placed shopping mall. The exhibit featured about four or five different artists with an assortment of different pieces from their gallery. The art that caught my eye the most was David Mach’s pieces. He has a very unique eye for taking pictures of different moments, people, and items, and turning them into a collage that depicts some sort of scene from a story. His ability to bring so many different moments into one amazed me.



After our art experience, we saw the new Batman movie. Yes, you read that correctly. When in Ireland right! The movie was so good, so intense, and so American. But, the commercials before the movie are what caught my eye. They are similar to American commercials in a sense that sexuality is a marketing strategy. The difference is, they seem to take it one step further… take that as you will.



The show we saw was Shakespeare’s “Henry V”. Going into it I knew two things: 1. It’s Shakespeare. 2. It’s 3 hours long. Not exactly promising information. The show was an all male cast and four minutes into it, I was sold. Not only was the cast nice to look at, they were very talented and funny. There was never a dull moment between the stage fighting, men in drag, and all of the general absurdity of Shakespearian work. The three hours went by in no time and I was truly pleased with what I saw.



We had another night out as a group, which is always enjoyable. Irish pubs have the best atmosphere on a weeknight because there is almost always live music, minimal people, and drink specials.



Oh Ireland, what an experience! (Sorry for another short blog)

Advertisement



25th July 2012

Daley- I have enjoyed reading about your experiences of Ireland…I have laughed, daydreamed about the beauty of the silence in the landscapes you have described, had hopes that all food in Ireland isn’t Shepherd’s pie (and other such questionable dishes), remembered (from being in Amsterdam) that it’s such a peculiar and disorienting feeling when it doesn’t get dark until close to midnight…and recalled that I have ever seen a bad Shakespeare play. I am happy you are discovering so many different and wonderful things about Ireland and the art festival. I hope you have found that experiences such as these…no one can ever take away. Be safe, enjoy and we look forward to viewing your pictures when you return. Keep up the writing. Peace and love, Aunt T.
26th July 2012

Glad you're having fun. I heard about your motion sickness...sorry about that! I miss you so much, but luckily I will seen you soon. I love you and enjoy the rest of your trip!!! :)

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb