Exploring Ballinasloe


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Ballinasloe
May 20th 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday May 20 - Today took a good exploratory walk around Ballinasloe and then walked to the Tesco and bought a Printer/scanner. Since I had a scanner and some other stuff, I had to have Noel pick me up at the Tesco and give me a ride home instead of walking. I invested most of the rest of the day in setting up the scanner and scanning family pictures Christy gave me to scan. I had been planning on catching the #20 bus on Dunlo street to Athlone and have a look around tomorrow (Monday), and get lined up on a tour from there to Clonmacnoise for Tuesday. However my cousin Noel came by and said we could all go to Clonmacnoise with him in his car tomorrow. So that sounds like a good deal.

I plan on later this week taking the #20 bus to Galway and back to check out the sights there. I'll let the bus driver worry about traffic and parking. I did some homework as well and found that there is a #50 bus which goes to the Cliffs of Moher going south and you can catch the #50 bus coming back north to get
AN Tain pubAN Tain pubAN Tain pub

The AN TAIN pub has a very good traditional Irish music session an sing along on Wednesdays. They also set out free chicken strips and chips (french fries) for their customers.
back to Galway. I'll have to investigate this option some more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The Lazy wallThe Lazy wall
The Lazy wall

I guess the wall got its name because people used to stop and sit on it.
The convent schoolThe convent school
The convent school

My mother went to school here. It is closed now.
The convent churchThe convent church
The convent church

The convent church. My mother attended St Michaels church instead.
St John's churchSt John's church
St John's church

Mom said when they were children they used to sled down this hill....it seemed huge to them then.
Bus Eireann picking up on Dunlo StreetBus Eireann picking up on Dunlo Street
Bus Eireann picking up on Dunlo Street

The #20 bus for Galway picks up by the Duck Inn pub on Dunlo Street several times a day. I figure I can stay in Ballinasloe and take the bus to Galway and back to tour Galway.
Bus Eireann pickup point for DublinBus Eireann pickup point for Dublin
Bus Eireann pickup point for Dublin

The #20 bus picks up in front of Pauls Bar (closed) for Dublin. I will catch it to Athlone later this week to have a look around.
TescoTesco
Tesco

After walking all around Ballinasloe I walked over to the Tesco here and did some shopping.
The long walk back from Tesco'sThe long walk back from Tesco's
The long walk back from Tesco's

The walk to Tesco wasn't bad but walking back carrying a printer plus a load of other stuff would have been a bit much so I had my cousin Noel come and give me a ride back.
Eating HealthyEating Healthy
Eating Healthy

No fear that I won't get my veggies here


22nd May 2012

walk
your are getting your exercise , did you get the link i sent you?
22nd May 2012

walking
Yes, but I think I am getting enough walking in without seeking any out : > )
22nd May 2012
AN Tain pub

Traveler
very good pictures glad to hear everyone helps you should be excellent tour guide after this trip
22nd May 2012
AN Tain pub

Thanks

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb