Shankill


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dún Laoghaire
April 1st 2008
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The seaThe seaThe sea

This is about two blocks away. No joke.

First blog - Ireland




Well, this is the third time I've tried to start this blog and each time I've been interrupted. Anyway, I'lll try to finish it this time.

I'm here! in Ireland! It's beautiful! (of course) But it does rain. A LOT. Even when you look outside and its sunny, there's probably a 50/50 chance that its raining. And when its sunny and you are walking along, the weather will defy the laws of weather and it'll rain even though the nearest clouds are close to the horizon. It is also pretty cold and windy, though I'm used to that because Boone is cold and windy. They have a weather joke here -

Nine months out of the year it's cold, wet and windy, and don't get me started on winter.



The town I'm in is very small, only a suburb of Dublin which is about forty minutes away by train. They have an amazing public transportation system, and a mixture of buses and trains can take you just about anywhere you need to go in the country for a relatively cheap price. Also, flights are ABSURDLY cheap and I'm debating on taking a weekend trip to...well, anywhere outside the UK. The exchange rate is really painful.

I'm pretty sure that
More seaMore seaMore sea

The sea form the other side
my host family are the nicest people on the planet. They are incredibly accomodating, make me way too much food all the time, make sure im comfortable, etc. I am definitely grateful for their attention. They also didn't say a word when I showed up two hours late to meet them after my flight because it was delayed and because i had to fill out missing baggage info AND fight with the immigration officials.

There are several other girls in from the states in the area. Three are from my college but there are others from all over. We all went out to the local pub (within walking fistance from here, very niiiice) and met each other and talked a bit. We are trying to schedule a trip to Dublin this weekend but I'll be going regardless of whether or not anyone comes with me.

On the downside, the airline DID lose my luggage (but I got it back) and I've come down with a cold, my second since Janurary (I've also had the flu TWICE since Janurary - stupid kids and their stupid germs,) however, its kinda hard to be upset about much when you're surrounded by
bit o' Dublinbit o' Dublinbit o' Dublin

street in Dublin
really nice people and castles and green.

Anways, I'm not feeling too well so I think I might go lie down. I'll post a blog about the schools later on.

Cheyenne


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb