Day 14 – Dublin: Bittersweet.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 28th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Traveling is not very fun. Especially when you have a newfound motion sickness problem and a three-hour bus ride. It was a bit daunting. Luckily, we made it to Dublin in one piece. From the Dublin bus station we had to take a separate bus from to the airport and a shuttle from the airport to our hotel. By the time be arrived here at around 3:30 pm, Dublin exploration was out of the question.



I love Ireland. From the breath-taking landscape to the exciting culture of the city, I really do hate to go home. The thing that sets Ireland apart from other countries isn’t the food or the accent, but it’s the way people talk to you. From the moment we arrived in Ireland, we had friends aside from the ones we came here with.



Our host parents, Finn and Kevin, are wonderful people. They both have huge hearts and I know they would do anything for me. Having that kind of support from the start was very encouraging. I can’t thank them enough for not only loving me like a family member, but for also treating me like the adult they know I am.



To be able to come to a foreign country as an 18 year old was a big deal for me. This summer has been one of growth and experience. In New York, I learned how to be an adult, work under important people, and live on my own in a big city, even if it was only for a few days. Here, I’ve learned how to be assertive, not be afraid to meet new people, and budget. Budgeting was the biggest and hardest hurdle on this trip. The exchange rate was an aspect, yes, but also the idea that I couldn’t just go crazy with my money. I had a much better appreciation for my money and what I spent it on, which also made me enjoy my activities and meals a lot more.



Sitting in a hotel room in Dublin and thinking about the past to weeks, I truly know I am blessed. I have wonderful parents, family, and friends who have supported me every step of the way. Even though none of you were able to be here in person, I know you were each here in spirit, so I never felt alone. There were no tears shed, only laughter, and the memories I’ve made and the people I’ve met will stay with me forever.



Goodnight everyone! This time tomorrow, I’ll be in Birmingham.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb