Preparing to depart


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 8th 2012
Published: May 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

May 8 Tuesday – 01:10 AM - It’s hard to believe that this time Thursday I will be in Ireland. I’ve been doing weeks of homework on Dublin and Ireland and tried to attend to every detail so here I go.

When I get to Dublin about this time Thursday I will take the Airlink bus 747 to Connolly Station where I will transfer to the LUAS Red line to Smithfield Station. From there I can walk to the Generator Hostel on Smithville Square. Once at the hostel I can drop off my backpack and do some rat killing while I wait for the 2pm check in time. Since I am a hostel virgin there will be quite a bit of just checking things out.



Actually now that I have looked at things a bit more I think I will just take the Airlink bus all the way to Heuston Station and then take the LUAS Red Line back to Smithville station from there, thus getting a sort of mini tour on the way to the Hostel.



As far as luggage goes I am bringing my backpack, my Computer/stuff shoulder bag, and a black reusable Wal Mart bag for snacks. It’s a long flight and I am not sure what kind of food they will be providing on the plane. Also I am sure it will be a good thing to have some sort of snacks available at the hostel.



6:12 Am – It’s hard to believe it’s after 6Am and I have been working all this time without being a bit sleepy. I’m all set now, all I need to do today is close down things here and take my truck by and wash it and head over to Bryan this afternoon to stay overnight and catch a ride to Austin Wednesday morning. Hopefully I will be able to go to sleep in a bit.



Evening – I closed down the hacienda in Harmony and went over to my sister’s house in Bryan for the first leg of my trip. We had a nice dinner and I said my goodbye’s and went to bed early so my biological clock would be on “Dublin time”.



May 9 Wednesday – I got up at 1:30 AM so that would be 7:30 AM in Dublin so that is good as it will be the time I will be arriving there tomorrow morning. I’ve done some last minute rat killing and am ready so all I need to do now is read my Lonely Planet books a bit and wait on 6AM when I will wake my brother Danny up who will take me to the Airport in Austin. I think next time I will just park in the off airport parking in Austin which is about $3.50 a day which for this trip with tax, etc for 42 days would have been $170. That’s kind of steep but self-reliance has a price. I think no matter how much people say they don’t mind taking you to the airport, the bottom line is they don’t want to be bothered with it.



Well…guess I will send this out and do some reading.

Advertisement



9th May 2012

Hi William,
I'm sure they don't mind running you over to the airport. It is always fun to wish someone well before their travels. Really looking forward to this adventure you have planned. We will be following along. We have not been to Ireland so we are really looking forward to your impressions.
11th May 2012

problem with blog
Thanks. Hopefully I will iron out some problems I am having here. I keep getting AOL UK instead of my regular AOL page and have to go roundabout thru Internet Explorer and My Aol to do anything. Also when I tried to "save" my blog this morning prior to posting it went to a message saying "Error Code 404 Page not found". I tried several times to save so I could post but kept getting this same message. Also my converter that I was using to plug in my computer got super hot this morning and quit functioning so till I get that sorted out I am running on limited battery power. Hopefully I will get things sorted out soon but of course the issue of my power converter not working and so running my charger for my computer will need to be sorted out first. Oh well.....I always have a few things to sort out when I do something new and different.
11th May 2012

power issue
Some other people came around and I sorted out the power issue. I had done homework at various sources and they told me that my adaptor on my laptop would work without a converter. I was unwilling to do it without confirmation here that it was so. But these people confirmed that it was and so now I am plugged in and can try and get my computer work done. : > D

Tot: 0.547s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.2274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb