Dublin St Patricks day


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 17th 2005
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Dublin was quite some time ago now but I’m going to write about the bits I remember (the funny highlights), three of us went out to Dublin but only two returned, a lot of alcohol was drunk and a lot of funny times were had by all, this is what I remember of the carnage that was St Patricks day 2005.

We had an early flight and by the time we landed and got to the hotel it was about 8am, when we looked out of our window you could actually see the parade that’s how central our hotel was, the parade wasn’t starting for a few hours so we went to a local cafe and had a fry up and a pint of Guinness, well I had a Guinness and blackcurrant as I don’t like Guinness, Freddy laughed when I ordered it “that’s a girls drink” he said, “no it’s not” I said, then the waitress turned to me and said “yes it is”, so I’d ordered a girls drink, it was breakfast I was allowed to start with a girls drink.

After breakfast the streets were starting to fill up with people, we saw people painting four leafed clovers on people’s faces, my friends and I all decided to have one painted on our cheek before heading for another drink, things get a little hazy after that but at some point we went back to the hotel to get changed for our night out. The weather was really mild for this time of year, we didn’t even need to wear a jacket. This was the first time I had been anywhere with a smoking ban in pubs & clubs, I thought this was going to be great seeing as I‘m not a smoker however no smoke just means you can smell everyone’s body odour and farts, I haven’t been out to any bars since it’s been introduced in England, thank god.

First night out and ‘one beer Freddy’ is drunk immediately, I think we had only been to a couple of bars before we lost him for a couple of hours, we eventually found him in a bar on Temple Street and I don’t think he even realised we had gone, lol. Peter was at the bar ordering some drinks and noticed the barman had left an entire bottle of something with us at the bar, peter looked around and decided to drink as much as possible before the barman saw him, after he drank a load of it we found out it wasn’t alcoholic, it was blackcurrant juice, lol. We managed to lose Freddy again and about an hour after Peter and I got back to the hotel Freddy stumbled through the door and passed out fully clothed on his bed.

The second night out and ‘one beer Freddy’ is lost again, another night of drinking and partying even though it wasn’t St Patricks day anymore it was still St Patricks day weekend and everyone was in the party mood. We had an early flight the next morning and Freddy still wasn’t back at the hotel, we tried to call him over and over again but he wasn’t answering, eventually we had to make a judgement call, do we take his bag to the airport or do we leave it at the hotel in case he can’t make it to the airport in time for the flight, we decided to leave it at the hotel and continued to call him. About 45 minutes before the flight I tried to call him one last time but my battery on my phone died and I hadn’t brought the charger, Freddy didn’t make our flight but when we spoke to him again he told us he spent an extra day in Dublin, good old ‘one beer Freddy’.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 41; qc: 139; dbt: 0.1209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb