Lovely Sunday in Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
June 14th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now THIS is how you panhandleNow THIS is how you panhandleNow THIS is how you panhandle

Smart fella - when people walked by he popped the lid and stuck out his hand.
So I'm sitting in the Karma Bar and who do I end up chatting with but a Dublin cabbie and his missus - also a cabbie - and he lived in Toronto for 15 years (so he did) over by Honest Ed's. We had a great chat about how many people had barfed in their cabs. Only one each - and they made them clean it up or pay 75 euros for the service. The things you learn in a bar. A grand day today - sunny and about 17C. I had intended to see the Book of Kells at Trinity College, but there was a lineup. I'll go back when I return to Dublin next week. So I wandered through St. Stephen's Park - very green and pretty - and watched a play that seemed to be about odd people and a Yorkshire Terrier. The terrier looked nervous and he actors were earnest. But it was free, so who's complaining? Did some shopping in Grafton St. Picked up an amazing designer jacket/shirt marked down from the ridiculous price of 380 euros to 75. Much better. Had lunch at Marks and Spencer's rooftop resto- Irish salmon salad Nicoise (up yers Frenchmen
Grafton  StreetGrafton  StreetGrafton Street

A flower stall in the main shopping area - they call it the High Street
with yer seared tuna) - a glass of pinot grigio and for dessert, this delicious plate of cream, cake, meringues and smashed fruit called "Eaton Mess." Apparently it's a big deal - the girls at the next table were beside themselves that they had it on the menu. Off to eat Irish again tonight - I had a steak and Guiness pie last night that was fantastic. "Does it come with vegetables?" I asked the server. "Oh yes," she said. "Mashed potatoes or chips?" I think I love it here.
Off to Galway in the morning and my hiking tour begins. More as I find Wifi on the road.
Slainte,
Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Little girl in the parkLittle girl in the park
Little girl in the park

First communion Sunday for this lass, I'll bet
Me and the tart with the cartMe and the tart with the cart
Me and the tart with the cart

Linda B and sweet Molly Malone


Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb