Day 1.5 - A night cap.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dalkey
September 25th 2013
Published: September 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Waking up around 6pm Irish time. I figured, we better grab something to eat. So, we went down the hotel restaurant. This hotel has 3 of them, we picked the Dungeon as its seemed fun, its at the bottom of the castle. We sat in the back and quietly ordered some chicken wings and beer. I had Smithwicks. I was surprised to see that 2 american beers, Bud Light and Millers were on Tap. The bar tender was a younger guy and seemed friendly. I asked him about something fun to do if we were on foot and he recommended walking to the top of Killiany Hill which is very close to the hotel. Being as it rained all day and it was now dark, I figured we could wait till the morning for this walk.

After 2 beers and had a conversation with the Bar Tender about local beer, he said the local pub (The Magpie is where I wanted to go) so soon we left and walked down the street to the Magpie.

The walk as worth it. The weather was cool and wet but the sky had already cleared out so no rain!

The homes were huge and all had giant walls. The addresses are very interesting here. So the Town is Dalkey, the County is Dublin and the home address is a name. Each home was litterally named after what I assume was the first owner. For example if I built a home here my address would be, Curry, Dalkey, Dublin Ireland. The homes all have their names on the front. It was funny walking by a bunch of large homes that had names.

It turns out this is a rich town. One of the Pubs has a picture of the Owner sitting with Michelle Obama and Bono from U2. It seems Bono and a few other members of U2 own homes here. Kellie and I could very well have walked past Bono's home without knowing.

The Bar was pretty quiet. Most men and a few women. Some young and many older. The beer was good. I had 3 beers. 1 local and 2 random on the tap. All were good but nothing stood out.

It seems people do not know you are American until you talk in which place they notice you right away. This is fine with me. I don't mind fitting into the crowd and now I know how to stand out, simply talk!

We walked home around midnight Irish time and went to sleep.



Link to a map of our walk


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Our RecieptOur Reciept
Our Reciept

Note the Beers we ordered!


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb