Spring is in the air!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dalkey
April 11th 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Look...what is that...green? Look...what is that...green? Look...what is that...green?

That's right folks. Our trees have leaves and there's no snow! OH I'm sorry...am I rubbing this in too much?
Hi everyone! I'm sorry I haven't been particularly diligent this week with writing this blog, but work has been keeping me really busy! I've officially ended my first week in my new apartment and it is seriously great. I can walk pretty much anywhere in Dublin from the location and it really does have some neat views. Of course I posted pictures, but please...hold the comments on the mess haha, there's three of us living here and we cleaned the day after. Promise. So my job has been panning out really well and I'm enjoying temping more than I expected. I'm working for AIB Investment Managers and basically I'm assisting with the printing and preparation of their end of quarter financial reports. It's a really excellent place to work; the people are friendly, the office is beautiful and the work is pretty straightforward. Maybe I need to get a job in a bank haha!

Speaking of banks, I still do not have a bank account and thus cannot be paid...this is a major bummer. Until I get this formal letter to prove I live in my residence, I can't open a bank account and until that happens, my agency can't direct deposit my wages. The joys of life in a new country! I suppose I'll survive somehow though haha. Aside from work (oh I made a new best friend that I work with; her name's Ana and she's from the UK. I definitely foresee us hanging out a lot in the future haha, she's great.) anyways, I had a pretty busy week and went and saw a lot of cool stuff.

I'm also putting some lovely spring pictures on here for you poor Canadian people, since it was 15 degrees over the weekend and all of our trees and plants are pretty much covered with leaves and flowers. That's right, try not to get too jealous. I also went to the Leprechaun Museum which was hilarious and learned about the myths and history of leprechauns and faeries. You would not believe some of the superstitions the Irish had, like seriously crazy stuff. I also went out to Wicklow on Sunday and it was beautiful! I took a ton of pictures, so have patience because they'll be up on my next blog. So I'm pretty exhausted from my weekend and I think I'm getting sick (sad face) so unfortunately this is all you're going to get for now. Love you lots and lots, and enjoy!

xoxo Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

This is it....the apartment.This is it....the apartment.
This is it....the apartment.

This is the room I share with my roommate Megan. She's super cool and I know it's a bit of a mess. I'm sorry.
Bathroom!Bathroom!
Bathroom!

It's pretty big and we have a giant mirror...I love my life.
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

Not too shabby right?
This is the view from Castle StreetThis is the view from Castle Street
This is the view from Castle Street

....there's literally a castle like a few doors down haha
Scary statue in the parkScary statue in the park
Scary statue in the park

It's actually a statue of Oscar Wilde, but it's really hilarious looking


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb