Kinsale Regatta Sunday August 5, 2012


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Kinsale
August 5th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

August 5 Sunday – Kinsale

I walked down to the harbor to watch the events for today. The tide had went out and was still out to such a degree that all there was, was mud where the previous day’s events had been held. I went to the other end of the harbor where today’s events were being held. There were various sailboat races being held. I watched them a bit and then started up the hill to the Compass Hill trail but it started raining. So I just eased back into town and listened to one of the performers in Market square a bit, then I walked up the hill a bit and checked out the St Multose church. It was built in 1190 by the Normans on the site of a previous 6th century church. After touring the church I eased back up the hill to the hostel. The priced at the restaurants in town are very high and I will have to quit eating out so much here.

After eating I took a nap intending to go to the regatta at 7PM but must have been tired as I didn’t wake up till 7:30 , so guess I missed it. They are supposed to have another at 2PM tomorrow but there is a 100% chance of rain so we will see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb