Wandering around Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
July 28th 2012
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 28 Saturday – Cork

Today I decided to walk down to the Elizabeth fort by St Fin Barres Cathedral.On the way down I detoured to the extreme west side of the island that Cork is on and ended up walking all over Cork again but not to the fort. So I guess that will be Sundays walk.

The weather is so changeable here. It started out blue skies and sunshine, then total dark clouds and a shower , then blue skies and sunshine again.

I had a nice walk around the city and checked out St Finbaar's Cathedral and the Elizabethian Fort, then eased back down to the city and up the hill to the hostel for the evening as it was getting a bit chilly.

I did a little research on hostels in Kinsale and booked a bed at the Dempsey’s Hostel in Kinsale for Monday thru Wednesday at €15 a night. So that is where I am heading on Monday. I guess tomorrow (Sunday) I will gather up some of this stuff scattered around this room and just have out what I need for Monday to depart for Kinsale.

I stayed at the Kinlay Hostel while I was here in Cork. For a number of reasons I would not reccomend it to anyone. Maybe next time I come I will try out the Cork International hostel by the University.



Funny thing but in June when I was in Southwest Ireland I always heard people on the street and in the hostel speaking German. Now in July and heading into August all I hear is FRENCH and Gaelic here in Cork.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Just a little stretch of the legsJust a little stretch of the legs
Just a little stretch of the legs

The Elizabeth Fort is by the spires for the St Finbaar's cathedral in the distance


Tot: 0.571s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb