Around the City


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 30th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I walked around the city recently to see what landmarks and scenes I could find. Cork is constantly revealing more and more beauty to me - all I have to do is step outside.

I toured County Kerry (the country gem of Ireland) this weekend...pictures coming soon!

Also, I've started booking tickets to other fabulous places! Got my tickets to London and Munich! But that means I officially have to start budgeting, so any good tips on how to not spend money would be appreciated!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The BridgeThe Bridge
The Bridge

This bridge is near the Mardyke Arena a little ways off campus.
SuspensionSuspension
Suspension

This suspension bridge was actually pretty scary to walk on. It started making noises and swaying when I was walking on it!
Are All These Bridge Pictures Really Necessary?Are All These Bridge Pictures Really Necessary?
Are All These Bridge Pictures Really Necessary?

I mean, how many good angles can a bridge possibly have?
Stumbling UponStumbling Upon
Stumbling Upon

A church. Back in the old days, anytime a new church or spire was built, the competing church (ie Catholic or Anglican) would erect a new building within 5 to 10 years in competitive response.
The GaolThe Gaol
The Gaol

This is the old Cork City Jail. Now it's open for tours, but I got there right at the end of the day so I just took pictures of the outside.
Room With A ViewRoom With A View
Room With A View

This is the back of the front gate. At least the prisoners would've had something to look at!
Two-Lane RoadTwo-Lane Road
Two-Lane Road

This road had two way traffic on it. When cars were coming both ways, one lane would have to pull over to let the other cars pass. Irish driving!
Above And BeyondAbove And Beyond
Above And Beyond

St.Fin Barre's Cathedral in the background.
I Love Branches!I Love Branches!
I Love Branches!

I don't know why...
I Found ShandonI Found Shandon
I Found Shandon

The famous Shandon Bells


10th February 2011

Nice!
Glad to hear you are at least thinking of budgeting your funds! I'm so proud! Great pics kid - so glad your experiences have been good. Miss you and love you! Mom
10th February 2011

WOW
K; Once again you have blown me away with your pictures. All verrrrrry cool! I guess I won't have to bring my camera to Ireland since you have so many great photos. How could I ever beat these? The bigger problem is now I will have to convert the basement into a photo gallery. Love You! Dad
10th February 2011
Are All These Bridge Pictures Really Necessary?

this one is!! i love it!
12th February 2011

So cool!
Hi Kaelyn!! This latest tour of Cork is so cool! Beautiful photos of the bridge and the river. I recognized several of the places in these pictures. Since you found Shandon did you find the Butter Museum? It is very near the clock tower. It doesn't open until March and was closed when I was there in November so I am hoping you will visit it at some point while you are there. ;-) Can't wait to see the Ring of Kerry photos! Happy Valentine's Day! Love you! Aunt Kim
14th February 2011

tis a beautiful place...
AGAIN. you are masterfully sharing Ireland with all of us stuck back home. Thanks for the postcard as well, altho- I think your photos are better! :)take care, love &miss you! Aunt Kris
14th February 2011

Tips
The only thing I can say about budgeting is to always remember that you have to get what you buy home! That was my biggest problem as you probably remember! Also, if you didn't already know, there are so many discounts for young people and for students. If you travel by train, at least in France, you can buy a carte 12/25 (douze-vingt-cinq) for 50 euro and it saves you around 50% on all train tickets! There might be something similar in other countries too. Good luck and Happy Valentine's Day!
14th February 2011
No Editing

That's crazy!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb