Kissing the Blarney Stone


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Blarney
April 29th 2007
Published: April 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I lost my alarm clock at some point while in Cork, and there was no clock in my room, and my wake-up call never came this morning, until Rick called my room at 10am, a half hour after we'd planned to meet for breakfast. Oops. I was packed, bathed (there was no shower in my room so I cannot say showered), and downstairs in a half hour though, and the weather was foggy and dreary so I knew it wasn't like we were missing out on great shots. I did get several shots of the B&B after we ate, and once Kate and Rick were ready to go we made our way to Blarney Castle, which is just outside Cork. There are no guides at the castle--it is self guided, and I didn't even notice any security guards or any employees, other than a man who helped people avoid falling while they kiss the Blarney Stone and a photographer who took your picture. The castle was great. It was definitely my favorite part of Ireland. Since you could wander all you wanted, it wasn't like we were rushed through, and it felt really authentic. It was neat to see the ruins of it too. What I mean is that there were places where there used to be wooden floors, but they had long fallen down and been taken away. The view was nice from up top, I kissed the Blarney Stone of course, and the gardens near by were also very nice. They had the Witch's Kitchen, the Druid's Cave, and the Wishing Steps, where you had to walk up and down the steps backwards and with one eye closed to have your wish come true. We had dinner at a local restaurant and then headed for the airport to drop off the car and wait for our flight back to Manchester. The flight was very quick, and we got to our hotel by the airport for a quick one-night stay by 10pm. We leave around 9am for London tomorrow morning.

Advertisement



30th April 2007

Wish
So are you going to tell us what you wished for? Are you getting sick of all the traveling and eating wonderful meals all the time? Do you ever get any time to just veg out and do nothing? I hope my puppy didn't keep you away all night.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb