The Worst Has Happened


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Ennis
March 30th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bunratty CastleBunratty CastleBunratty Castle

Just outside Limerick
I will get to what happened in a few minutes but tell ya's what else I've been up to since Cork. The new hosts that I was staying with in Limerick all decided one day to take me on a tour of County Clair which was real nice of them, they all took a day of work and two car loads latter we were heading for the Cliffs of Moher about one hour drive towards the west coast. Luckily it was a sunny day for once so we had great views of the cliffs and the Islands out on the horizon. The cliffs are the highest in Europe I think about 200m above sea level and really spectulier. People used to be able to go right to the edge only last year but it is all fenced off now so that was dissapointing.

Next we were heading along the coast rd through the Burren, which is the weirdest landscape I've seen. Nothing like Ireland at all it is all lime stone that has risen to the surface and has no soil at all on top so it looks like a real barren landscape that nothing could possibly grow on at
Cliffs Of Moher
all. But was a nice drive, they even let me drive through the coast roads with cliff faces on one side and the ocean on the other side, very nice.

We headed to Aillwee Cave after having lunch on the rocky shoreline and the cave is famous for its underground waterfall. Can’t remember how high it is exactly but around 60m I think but not sure. Like most caves here they used to be an underground river formed when the ice melted at the last ice age and must have en a decent river running through it was about 5m wide and 3m high in some places so fairly big underneath the earth.

We got back to Limerick pretty late and since I was going to Ennis in the morning I just made my next hitchhiking sign and hit the hay after the big day. Had no worry’s at all getting a lift in the morning the first guy took me half way cause he had to turn off and the next guy picked me up even though I wasn’t even expecting to. I was walking up the road a little to get of a
Ailwee CavesAilwee CavesAilwee Caves

The Underground Waterfall
corner and he
Ailwee Caves
The Underground Waterfalljust pulled up and asked if I needed to get a lift anywhere. Nice and easy!!
So arrived in Ennis and not before long disaster struck! I have know idea hoe they did it or when but anyway my passport (sorry mum didn't tell ya that bit cause you will put me on the next flight home), wallet, sunglasses, some clothes and some other paperwork had been stolen. I had know idea it had happened until I tried to make a call to the people I was staying with and thinking where did I put my wallet last. I thought it ws in my pocket but no not there so checked my bag then realised my passport was missing as well. I just sat there for a while and thought this can’t be happening when am I going to wake up. Didn't realise that my sunglasses and a couple of items of clothes was gone untill the next day when I was trying to get dressed! They must have know what they were doing as I thought my wallet was in my pocket and passport was zipped up in a dirrerent bag along
The BurrenThe BurrenThe Burren

All The Land Is Just Like This
with my clothes and sunglasses.

I
The Burren
All The Land Is Just Like Thisthought that I was buggered with no money and no way of getting it and the passport is the worst ting ever for a backpacker to loose! So headed to the police station and they let me make a couple of phone calls and luckily I got hold of 'parentposs' and they transferred some money the next day but was a little hairy trying to get a place to stay that night. It was at 11pm that I finally got a place to stay here so was very lucky.

So next day was all about cancelling credit cards, doing police reports, trying to work out how to to the insurance papers and walking the back alleyways hoping to find something and actually did find some of my clothes! The police even put over the radio in the area that me stuff was gone and the people that took it must have heard and dropped my passport into a shop with a note saying 'you need this more than us' that note really is a keeper!
Well that what has been happening over here in
The Writing Of A TheifThe Writing Of A TheifThe Writing Of A Theif

This Is The Note That Was With My Passport!!
Ireland lately not the best stuff but it is happened ad need to deal with
The Writing Of A Theif
This Is The Note That Was With My Passport!!it I guess. So I'm stuck here in Ennis for a couple of days hoping that something might happen but don’t recon now so might get out of this place and go to Galway tomorrow.

See ya's latter and good luck to the magpies for the first game!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Cliffs Of MoherCliffs Of Moher
Cliffs Of Moher

A Big Drop
The BurrenThe Burren
The Burren

Me Driving Along The Coast
Ailwee CavesAilwee Caves
Ailwee Caves

This Thing Is 8000 Years In The Making


31st March 2007

Whew! What a bummer!
Hi Chris what an awful experience for you. Guess there is no need to say never leave your passport anywhere but on you! Number one rule with travelling. The most innocent places (like Tasmania) can be the worst for theft etc. The scary places are probably safer! But I wouldn't like to test that theory! Take care, love hearing from you so keep up the great work!
31st March 2007

you poor thing!
chris that sucks! im so sorry. im sure it will be sorted out soon but its still a really horrible thing to happen because u always feel more vulnerable when something bad happens overseas. anyway, im sure it will be ok! hope your luck improves :-)
2nd April 2007

you knob!
Slug, You knob!! When i said get into mischef, coz it's more fun... I DIDN'T MEAN GO LOSE YOUR SHIT!!!!! .. That mist of been totallt shithouse! Anyway atleast those arseholes give you back your passport! We got beaten by the parrotts, but there were some really pleasing signs to come out of the game. It was probably just our inexperiance at times that lost us the game! Late in the last quarter Morals nearly got his head kicked of by the germ that i was playing on and it was the most blatent "kicking in danger" ever!! But the umpire called a ball up, so i proceeded to question his ability as an umpire with a few choice words and gave a free kick away. it was the only goal that squibb kicked on me all day, so i was pretty pissed off with myself afterwards.. Anyway we should go well this year.. Stay in mischef, BUT DON'T LOSE YOUR SHIT AGAIN!!! Cabes...
2nd April 2007

Hi Slug!
Have been looking through the comments and noticed that Brett has not written anything yet! (He probrably hasn't worked out how to do it). Bummer about all your stuff, I know what it was like when I lost my wallet and passport in Thailand, more of a hassle than anything else.. plus I was supposed to be flying out the next day. Has been great getting your travel blogs, I loved the ones when you were in Egypt, can't wait to get over there but will have to work on convincing Brett...(and saving money) We don't have too much to report from Melbourne.. I decided to support the Kangaroos on the weekend and opened a sportsbet account..(I thought I might become more interested in it if i had $5 on a team).. They lost again... will have to start listening to Dermie's tipping advice in the morning to get the sportsbet account back up. Anyway, take care.. I better get back to work. Love Carly and Brett
2nd April 2007

So much for thinking that your Mum can relax now that you are in an english speaking country. I am glad you got your passport back and that you are ok. With Football starting your Mum will have other things to worry about, so her stress level about all of this could be a little less (whiskey may help too). Take care and keep your belongings really reaaly close.
2nd April 2007

No!!
Hey chris, thats so shit what happened to you, at least you got your passport back though! hope everything is ok and sorting itself out now... those bastards! been great reading your blogs. Hope your enjoying yourself still. how long have you got left in Ireland then? speak soon. all the best, charlie xxx
4th April 2007

hey slug
g'day slug, it was a bit of a bugger about ya passport and shit. anyway shit happens. sounds like you are still having a great timewhich is good. i wish no one could read these comments cause there was some pretty good stories after the fisrt round of footy! got blind at deisels new joint sat nite and played golf sun, got blind again. better leave the story at that i think.. As for the footy we played well for most of the game but lost our bundle for about 10 minutes which cost us the game. we look like we are going to go alright tho. still got my girlfreind, things seem to be going along really well, we will leave that there aswell. anyway slug the full stories will have to wait. keep having a good time mate. bugsy

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb