Eurotrip TAKE 3


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest
July 12th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


What it is about Stewart and Jen, I don't know, but since we met them, they have somehow been a catalyst to ensure Justin and I have amazing summer vacations. Last summer it was our drive around the United States, largely for the purpose of attending their wedding in California. While most of our friends took an airplane there, Justin and I opted for a more leisurely mode of transportation...the automobile. While last summer it was radio blaring, windows down kind of fun, this trip will be entirely different. In fact, the automobile will be our most rare form of transportation for the next 2.5 weeks. Instead, we will be walking, training (railing?) and flying. None of which involve the radio blaring... What it will involve is spending 1 week with Jen and Stewart touring Iceland and France, and then off to Italy for some exploring on our own.
We packed backpacks, though I wouldn't call this trip a backpacking trip. That was Eurotrip Take 1. However "light" I attempted to pack, I am still grossly overpacked. I can't help but to sneak in an extra cami, or those cute flats, with the fantasy of wearing them while sipping wine outside the Eiffle tower. I have never been much of a romantic. However, the thought of traveling to these ancient cities with Justin sort of puts a new light on these destinations. I have also informed him that he will be carrying all the heavy toiletries and shoes.
I have several goals for this European trip, some of which are blog appropriate, some not. All goals, however, stem from previous European experiences. I have set them reasonably low, because I believe that the feeling of accomplishment is always far more fun than the actual accomplishment itself. So here are my goals:
1. I WILL NOT GET MY PASSPORT STOLEN
2. NOR MY MONEY, CAMERA, or CREDIT CARDS
3. I will eat food and not live off of beer and wine.
4. I am NOT to eat at McDonald's, not one single McFlurry.
5. I will not sleep in a train station.
6. I will not puke on anyone's shoes, or fill the barf bags on the airplane. (Gonna need some Dramamine for this one)
7. I will go to Siena, Italy.

All in all, if we can stick to these seven, we should have one amazing time.
Off to Reykjavik!

Advertisement



15th July 2011

Add another city to your list!
Make sure you visit Verona too, and get a picture on Juliet's balcony. :) Oh, and let us know when you're ready to come visit Uganda!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb