volcanoes and asymmetrical haircuts


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
March 30th 2013
Published: December 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bjork WhiskeyBjork WhiskeyBjork Whiskey

So this is what they mean when they say Bjork is Iceland's # 1 export.
3:15 AM- Good Friday- It feels as though I just blinked as I am gently tousled awake by the sound of Del Barber. Dennie and I drag ourselves from bed, crawl into a cab, and make our way to the airport where she is going to spend 10 days with Friends in Nelson, BC and where I am meeting 31 students to begin a 12 day tour of the capitals of Scandinavia - Oslo, Copenhagen, Stockholm, Helsinki, Tallin then back just in time for mid term exams. The EF tours itinerary is ambitious, and will require patience, but the nervous smiles from parents and energy in the air at 3:45 AM at YQR reaffirms my decision to take a big group of students with me to Northern Europe.

7AM- Reyjavik, Iceland- I believe it's Saturday!?- After a very tight connection in Reykjavik and a couple icy exchanges with the cool Icelandic airport staff our plane takes off towards Oslo. Here I sit, eating cranberry cinnamon oatmeal and watching the sunrise over the volcanic mountains of this tiny island nation. As we board our flight to Norway, I get a brief snapshot of this fiercely independent country of 360,000. The travel promos on the plane show clips of trendy Reykjavik record shops, boutique harbour front art hotels, summer music festivals, volcanic geysers and lots and lots of saunas and natural hot springs. The asymmetrical haircuts, dark rimmed glasses and beautiful tattooed people that surround me on this flight make me acutely aware of a strong desire to return this this hipster paradise. Sjáumst fljótlega Ísland!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb