SHIPS NOTES


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
August 1st 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Notes on the Prinsendam:
She is really a small ship. She has two banks of two elevators each so the wait for one is often long. My cabin has a Plexiglas window inside the windowsill of the ships windows. I’m not sure why. My bathtub is so big it allows me to stretch out full length.
The Lido buffet is really small. More than once I have had to either bring food to my cabin or order room service because there was no place to sit. Part of the reason is the weather. Not many people wish to eat al fresco at 52 degrees. The Terrace Grill has been moved inside.
The kitchen seems to be struggling. Last night my Beef Wellington arrived long after all the other meals. Service at Afternoon Tea was erratic; I got everything except the tea even after asking three times. Breakfast can last for over an hour. It seems that the wait staff is in training. Not what I expected. The reputation of the ship led me to believe that the service would be exceptional. Not the case and those who have sailed on her before told me this was the worse service they had seen. I have no idea what is causing this but I do know that senior staff, the Hotel Manager, the Beverage Manager and the Culinary Ops Manager has been around sorting things out.
I think one of the major problems is the “As you Wish” dining concept. This really tests a kitchen and this one was designed for fixed seating.
Yesterday when I tendered ashore I found out that the seat was wet when I got off. Not a great way to begin a chilly boat ride.
All that being said, my room stewards are delightful elves who I seldom see. Our dining room stewards are professional and always friendly and helpful. Our beverage waiter is lovely and efficient. My few dealings with the Front Desk, the Cruise Director, Linda and the Shore Excursion people have been very good.
Another change is that the paper is not delivered to the cabin each day. You have to go to the front desk for it. I did that once and then wondered why. All it does is make me angry and depressed.
I understand that the shows have been OK. Since I don’t usually go to them I can’t give a personal critique. Now it’s time to shower and head out for another day at sea. It’s rough out there today. The seas are four to twelve feet. I’m loving it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.604s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.3824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb