Budapest with our very own guide...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 31st 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My last visit to Budapest was back in November 2003. It was my second time in the city to visit one of my best friend Hugues. Over these 2 years I came here for two visits. At that time I was travelling without a camera, but I've always had a lot of fun in Budapest and I've kept great souvenirs of the city. My first two visits were both in the deep of Autumn, with far less great weather than in the middle of summer. This was nearly 6 years ago. Today Hugues lives in Shanghai...and we are more than friends. But never would I have thought that I would 16 months ago fall in love with a beautiful hungarian girl. My friend Hugues is in love with Budapest, I'm in love with Ma'ri.

So this visit has something special for all of us. I'm finally here where the sun shine high in the sky...and on every face of our lovely family. Normally, I'm the one who plan each trip...this time I enjoy the ride and my wonderful guide Ma'ri is in charge. But the best of all, is that this trip is shared with Leslie and Tiffany.

We stay for 2 nights at Ma'ri old flat, welcome by one of her best friend and former flatmate Gyongyi...Gyongyi, when you read this, I want to tell you thank you for the very warm welcome you prepared for us.

On the 31st, the car was parked for the day...and we were ready to ride buses, trams and metros all around town. First stop, the Chain's bridge. I did cross the bridge by taxi, and cycling also, but never on foot. We made our way to the funicular up to the castle. This is a seriously expensive 2 minutes ride, a true tourist trap...but a really fun experience for Tiffany and Leslie. Our next stop was the castle of Buda. The castle itself is a serie of museums. We gave a pass to the museums for this visit...and continue to stroll around the hills of Buda. There are renovations going all around and the place is and will be even more beautiful. Lunch was a schnitzel affair down in one of Buda great restaurant (this time we went down by bus).

For the afternoon, Ma'ri had a great surprise in her bag for Leslie and Tiffany. We headed to the "Palace of Miracles". It's a science museum designed for children. More a playground than a museum. The place allows kids to touch, try, ride different scientific phenomenons. Look at the pictures to understand the joy and the smiles of Tiffany and Leslie. And may I add that Ma'ri and I had a lot of fun also. I did the same thing with Tiffany back in January in Christchurch, New Zealand, but this was even better.

On the 1st of August, we made our way to the north-east of Hungary, riding through Miskolc, in the direction of Kosice. We went across Miskolc, not a beautiful city for sure. But after Miskolc, we drove in the direction of the hills bordering Slovakia, a way more scenic area.

I was going to be introduce to Ma'ri family for the first time. Few days which were a true blessing. For those and more you will need to wait a little...I'm coming back with more pics and more reading in the next few days.

With love from four of us, and for sure, we will be back in Budapest next summer!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 1.155s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 36; qc: 129; dbt: 0.6977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb