So...I've been a bit busy drinking champagne to Blog....


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
November 29th 2013
Published: November 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello all..... sorry I have been so slack, but I have been having a great time drinking champagne in the air and around Europe... I have tried 5 so far and think that Bollinger is the front runner for favourite at the moment (others are Chandon, Laurent Perrier, Pommery and Marquis de la Tour).

I left you last in Bath and so far have also visited Edinburgh, York, Oxford (for Lunch with Uncle Ray) and back to London.... I am writing this from my hotel in Budapest (Buda on one side of the Danube and Pest on the other) The hotel is actually in Pest, but we looked at both sides this morning.

With regard to the other towns I have visited... I am going to send you to Greg's blog (His blog name is being dragged about)...this will save those of you who have already wasted a bit of time rather than reading my repeats.... here is the link http://www.travelblog.org/fred.php?id=817335.

What I enjoyed most in Edinburgh was catching up with two sets of lovely people Kate (Grimes) and Robin Taylor, and the Lovely Lauren Szylarski (a grad from ASIC and one of the fairy godchildren) and James Krekelberg.

Caught up with my Uncle Ray (Brother Ralph) in Oxford. He took us to a pub that has been on there for centuries. Told us a story, that before the road was put in, people would walk across the fields to the rivers edge and ring a bell, one of the ladies that owned the pub, would then take a punt across the river and ferry the people across the river. Now people come by river and by road. It was lovely to see Ray who is now 83 and although has trouble with his eyesight is hale and hearty and enjoys pottering around and sometimes cooking for the other brothers.

In London we caught up with the lovely Bree Ryan another of the ASIC Grads and fairy godchild. We spent two hours drinking and catching up with Bree in the Langham Lounge before going off to see the Christmas Lights. I have put up pictures of the lights and the Harrods windows on my facebook page if you want to have a look.

I promise my next blog will be more interesting.... off to the Budapest Christmas Markets.... Ciao

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb