Week 10 - All good things must come to an end...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
April 19th 2009
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Balkan Trek 2009 (03/11-04/21)


Um, what?

I guess this is the part where I say something about how these past 10 weeks have changed my life, blah blah blah...you know the drill.

It's the part where I close this chapter of my life and hightail it back to the States, where I belong.

Yes, the good ole US of A: land of the free and home to McDonald's. While my time here in Europe has certainly opened my eyes to the simple relativity of human existence (as well as my lungs to the outrageous amount of second-hand smoke...one thing I learned about Europeans is that their first love is tobacco :P), I'm eager to head back to the place I'm most familiar with... or where I can at least read the damned signs and not worry about whether the strangers next to me on the bus are secretly plotting my untimely demise.

Two things I miss most about America: English and relative anonymity.

Oh, and street signs placed at all intersections. And the ability to ask questions in unbroken English without getting the evil eye. And the presence of mind to avoid becoming the next scammer's target because I obviously
Tram 49Tram 49Tram 49

the tram I took everyday to and from my hostel!
look foreign.

lol! I guess I miss America more than I originally thought!

Oh, wait! I'm supposed to say something about Budapest...well...my favorite things about Budapest are:

- the sandwiches (they're to DIE for...I can totally understand why they're proud of them :D)
- the public transportation system (very easy and convenient to use...I bought a 7-day pass good for the subway, bus, trolleys, trams, the suburban railway, and the like...only about 15 euro!)
- people generally leaving you alone, since they're so many Goddamned tourists here
- the sights! Heroes' Square and Fisherman's Bastion are my 2 faves :D
- and everything is CHEAP by (Western) European standards

No doubt about it, these Hungarians really know how to show a Chinese Texan a really good time :D

Anyhow, I'll take this opportunity to bid my final adieu to Eastern Europe, and one day I hope to ride its rails once more!

Ciao!





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

tuna sandwich!tuna sandwich!
tuna sandwich!

Budapest has made me a believer in tuna fish sandwiches <3
another sandwichanother sandwich
another sandwich

too good to resist <3
statuestatue
statue

by the Buda Castle
St. Stephen's CathedralSt. Stephen's Cathedral
St. Stephen's Cathedral

the largest Catholic church in Budapest
Bela Bartok's study!Bela Bartok's study!
Bela Bartok's study!

in his country home in Budapest
view of Parliament buildingview of Parliament building
view of Parliament building

from Fisherman's Bastion


20th April 2009

"I guess this is the part where I say something about how these past 10 weeks have changed my life..." I was expecting a 5 pg essay. And you wrote 5 bullet points..... WELCOME BACK
22nd April 2009

yuxuan!!! I hope you're still alive!!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb