Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
December 1st 2012
Published: December 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

December 1st- Saturday in Santorini - Very quiet day here. I’m sure glad I came during the off season. The streets, stores, restaurants, and walkways are all not crowded. Indeed I had the walkway along the Caldera almost all to myself. The volcano is quiet and hopefully it will stay that way a few more days.



December 2 – Oia – I caught the bus out to Oia today. The main thing I learned was it wasn’t worth the trouble to catch the bus out to Oia. Not much there but a lot of shops and restaurants that are mostly closed for the season or because it is Sunday.

I think Fira has Oia beaten hands down.

I should have went to the Red Beach and Ancient Akrotiri instead. I had planned on taking the boat tour of the volcano and hot springs in the caldera but couldn’t sleep last night and so slept in too late today to go to it. Why do people always seem to schedule things for the morning. People living a life of leisure don’t do mornings.

Oh well , I guess I will catch it next time. I’ll probably
FiraFiraFira

The town of Fira on the edge of the Caldera. It's almost deserted because it is the off season. Still , enough stores and restaurants are open to have a good holiday here.
come back here in Spring before the summer crowds show up.

I’m flying back to Athens tomorrow and will enjoy a couple of more days there and then begin flying back on Wednesday arriving in Bryan on Thursday. Adio.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Yogi Pizza and PastaYogi Pizza and Pasta
Yogi Pizza and Pasta

Ran by a Canadian. Good Greek Salads and Greek food


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb