Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
April 25th 2006
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Flight from Athens to Santorini today, and after our transfer left my suitcase at another hotel (I think that bag is cursed), we arrived at our hotel overlooking the caldera (the volcano that exploded and filled up with ocean). I have to say that all of the pictures of Santorini cannot possibly do justice to the breathtaking views of this island. Tiny white and blue houses built on the cliffs surrounding the caldera, with a sheer drop into the Aegean. Santorini is by far the most beautiful island I've ever been on. As an additional plus, since we arrived after the Easter holiday, we appear to be in between tourist seasons - it feels almost deserted at our hotel. I don't know if its the air here (which doesn't reek of cigarettes) or the more relaxed lifestyle compared to Athens, but the only thing I'm compelled to do is - nothing. Really good dinner at a tavern Tuesday night, with a complementary digestif that I proceeded to hork up on the walk back to the hotel - my most charming Santorini memory!

Wednesday we went into Fira, the capital, for shopping and lunch. The village is full of tiny pathways with little shops that feel like a maze. For as beautiful as this island is, it is equally as touristy. Dad compares it to a Mackinac Island feel, which is pretty accurate. For dinner we went to Oia, a village that is literally on the northernmost cliff of the island. Oia was definitely a quieter and more picturesque village - it was hard to determine which pictures to take, every view looks like a postcard. Ferry to Sifnos tomorrow - stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



26th April 2006

Gorgeous Pics!
Hi Kerri- Sounds and looks like you are having a great time! The pics are gorgeous!! So pretty!! Makes me want to go!! Talk to you when you get back!! ~Nicole
27th April 2006

ROOM FOR ME
Looks like there would have been plenty of room for me to come along. I love the outdoor dining looking out across the sea. THAT IS LIVING RIGHT! Can't wait for your return and for planning OUR next trip. :) Hi to Kari, I love the blog! and the photos.
27th April 2006

It's just as beautiful as the website! Did you get any good cat pictures? Could you please have your Dad take a few pictures of you with that beautiful scenery in the background? I know you're having a great time, but I can't wait till you get back. Lucy and I miss you.
27th April 2006

Thanks for sharing your vacation live!
Hi, Kerri. I am so glad your Mom forwarded this site to us. I can't wait to show Brad. I haven't seen a photo of your Dad in years--he looks great. In fact, he looks much the same except for gray hair and mustache! I'm glad you're having such a wonderful time. Your descriptions are great. I can almost "smell" Greece just by reading your blog. Have a great time and stay safe. Love, Bebe
29th April 2006

I love the pic of George!!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb