Malaysia- Flowers, Towers, and Superpowers


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
July 5th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thursday (an extra day I forgot I had)

Another day in the hot, humid air of Kuala Lumpur. Fortunately, there's plenty of shade and AC to be had. Yes, one more day to explore around the great city. Still lots to see. But because the weather is so oppressive, I slowed it down. I slept in and opted for the KL City Hop on/Hop off Tour Bus. It's air-conditioned, stops at all the major attractions/areas, and is relatively cheap ($US 12).

While I waited for the bus to arrive at Sentral Station, a young woman came along looking for the same bus. She was from Canada, is going to school in Thailand, and now vacationing with her family for a few weeks. As we talked, we discovered that neither of us care for coffee, but we both love Starbucks' Java Chip Frappuccino. What are the odds? Cool, huh? We talked for a while and then the bus arrived.

After hopping on the bus I ended up talking with a young eye surgeon from Iran, who was doing further study at a university in Malaysia. He was very helpful, since he had ridden the bus the day before, telling
Orchid and Hibiscus Garden
me what stops were good and ones that weren't so good. He told me which ones were free and which ones weren't, too. Of course, talk eventually led to politics. He was telling me that Iranians can't talk to foreigners without the threat of being arrested and "taken in" by the police. It's also illegal to drink, but he said, for a price, you can get it at some restaurants. It was clear that he didn't agree with everything his government does, and he could separate the government from the people. And he held no ill will towards Americans, but he didn't appreciate the American government.

First stop, Orchid and Hibicus Gardens. I strolled sloooowly around the flowers, fountains, and people. It's interesting being in a country where Muslims are in the majority. Now I know, at least more so, how it feels to be "different" as one of a minority.

Back on the bus and as I was ready to get off at the Jamek Mosque, a huge structure taking up many blocks, someone getting on the bus told me it was closed until 2pm for prayers. So I stayed on the bus and ended up talking
Muslims Walking in Garden
to the young man. He just got out of the navy in Korea. Now he was traveling around the world for a few months. He planned to spend 3 weeks with a group going across the U.S. from New York to L.A. ... in August. It's pretty hot in Korea, so the heat won't be unusual for him.

Arrive at KL Skytower, the 4th largest tower in the world. Not much to report. It's tall. Took pictures of the view and the Petronas Towers across the way. I don't think they get many clear days here.

Walking from the Skytower (I was heading to the movies to cool off), I came across a guy who apparently collects stray cats. Somehow I thought of Jennifer. Yeah Jennifer, if you ever need to make a few bucks, this guy was charging $US 1.50 to take pictures. You've got a scooter; now all you need is a few more cats and you got yourself a little business.

The theater was located in an upscale, mullti-level mall. When you buy the ticket, they assign you a seat. Mine was D11. Of course, even with the assigned seat I managed to sit
Flower
in the wrong seat. Even though the movie started at 5:30pm, they don't let you in until 5 minutes before the movie starts. In case you're wondering, I saw the "Fantastic Four." That's where the "superpower" part comes in from the title. Pretty clever, huh?. The theater was freezing, and it felt great. One thing I noticed is that people seem to have no problem answering and talking on their cell phones... LOUDLY.

My day was almost finished. I had a few hours before I had to leave for the airport, so I tried another massage. This time I thought I'd give another Blind Massage Shop a chance. And I'm glad I did. My masseur's name was Paul. What a coincidence. AND he was very different from the first guy. He was more talkative... I mean, he talked. AND when he asked me if the massage hurt, he actually cared. Yes, I enjoyed this one so much more. More relaxing.

Paul told me that he became blind at 28 years old from glacoma. Apparently they don't have the social services that we have in the States. But the government does help to train the blind so they have
People in Garden
some way of supporting themselves. Also they don't pay taxes, which I'm sure is a big help. He went on to tell me about the education in Malaysia as well. Children only go to school through the 9th grade. Unless you have money to continue your education, at 15 years old you start working. They learn some English at school, but most, if they speak it and most do, learn it from using with other Malaysians or dealing with tourists. Paul's English was fairly good considering his situation. One thing that surprised me about him is that he loves heavy metal rock music. I told him he'd get along real well with a friend of mine.

When I went to pay the receptionist, after she offered some hot tea, I asked how she could tell what I was giving her. She showed me the different size of the currency and also the silver threads that are in the bills. They can tell by where the threads are in the money which bill it is. How do blind people do it in the States I wonder?






Flower

Lilies

Orchids Cheap- $US 4 each

Fountain

flower

Flower

Skytower entrance

Skytower

Skytower view

Skytower view

Monorail

Alley Cafe

Scooter Cats

More Cats

More Cats 2

Desert Star Turtles
More turtles for you, Ms. Hill.
2nd Blind Massage




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb