Better than postcards...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini »  Ia
August 5th 2010
Published: April 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the moment came, what I've been waiting for initially for this Greece trip... as the cruise ship stopped in the middle of the Aegean sea not too far from the port of the island of Santorini... we were all asked to head to the deck and boared another smaller ship. Well i must say, I was already liking it, other than the inconvenience of reserving a number for seats ahead of time and lining up with hordes of people trying to make sure they get on the smaller ship... it was all good. I mean when do I ever get to experience something like this... off from one huge boat and on to another smaller one... I just find small things like this fascinating....

As my friend and I boarded this small boat, luckily we got some really cool spot... well it's not really a seat but I did took the liberty of sitting on the 2nd deck right at the very front of the boat... I don't know what any boat linggo so all I know is that it's not meant to be a seat... but who cares right... I wont move until they tell me so :D .... Maybe I just wanna be bad in the Aegean sea...

But let me tell you about this excursion first... There were two choices that was given to us... First was the tour around Fira and we get to swim on an active volcano nearby... (which btw was my idea of FUN... my 1st choice) and 2nd excursion option was the tour around Oia and Fira... So I told my friend Arlene, that maybe we should do the 1st excursion option since it blows my mind that we get to swim in this volcano and how amazing would that be... but my friend of course said 'no' .... lol I'm not too sure if she's really fond of doing that... I kind of saw that coming but at least I tried... Although, she made a good point, she told me that the 2nd option is way better, yes we don't get to do some crazy stuff, but the town of Oia is definetely something to experience and see for ourselves... what do I know... I mean obviously I didn't do my homework coming to Greece... only because I choose not to...

My idea of coming here is to be astonished of what I see... ignorance is definetely a bliss... I mean I don't want to expect to see what I've already seen in pictures... I wanna see it first hand... yeah, maybe this is a bad way of thinking but for me this is how I wanted it to be... I'm not back packing, I am in a tour... so why not see everything for myself... 1st hand rather than seeing it in a picture from a book... but of course I'm not going to lie... we all know Santorini from postcards and from pictures... Most of the time when you google greece, Santorini is one of the pictures that comes up... so we all have that idea.... anyways to make it short we went on the 2nd excursion...

To get to Santorini from the port, we have to get on the tour bus and drive all the way on the very top of this elevated land... the experience itseld was awesome, I took the liberty to snap away photos during the bus ride.

But what striked me the most was when we arrived to Oia, yes it was a long bus ride but was it worth it??

Well let me put it this way... seeing Oia for myself was way better than I have every imagined... the feeling that I felt being there over looking the Sea was something I can't even describe... Little, simple moments like this put a smile in my face, and then I remember why I dreamed of seeing the world... of travelling...

It's true when they say the best things in life are free... I find that any where I travel I get that certain feeling about the place that words can't even explain... I take a lot of pictures because I tend to forget certain things after awhile.... but whenever I close my eyes and think of a place I've been to... there's always that one place that I remember... because the feeling that I felt at that certain time was just priceless... unforgetful...

After all, we do not remember days, but we remember moments....

Santorini turned out to be greater than what I was expecting... and I guess sometimes in life... we need to throw away our expectations, because when we least expect things to happen, that's when great things happen...




Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



20th April 2011

Hello Maria! Great reading your blog! I've been in Santorini in August 2008 and I got to tell you that for me is still the place where I actually think you are on top of the world with no limits to dreams :). Enjoy your ride in Europe. If you need some tips just ask. I've been travelling in the last years in Europe and maybe I can be of help for your trips here. Best! Irina

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb