Update


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Rhodes
October 5th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mt. OlympusMt. OlympusMt. Olympus

I look cranky because I wa cranky here. The view from the top was beautiful, but after hiking 8 hours the previous day, a night of cold sleep, and another three hours to the top, I wasn't in the best of moods...
I love couches. Soft ones, hard ones, anything with enough back support not to be called a bed. This is the life of a study abroad student though, no couch. I have a bed, I have drawers, I even have a sort of kitchen, but no couch. A year abroad and what do I miss? Yep, couches. When I go to cafes I practically leap into the welcoming embrace of the couch. I try to recall more normal times when life included a living room. Couches, though, belong in a domestic world that I haven't made it to yet. I sit on floors, beds, hard chairs occasionally, but home, home is where the couch is. However, while I might not be able to relax in a comfy couch all the time, I have gotten to sit on some amazing things; the top of Mt. Olympus, the theater in Ephesus, the fairy chimneys of Capadocia, the rocky shore of Patmos, the steps of Hagia Sophia, the warm marble of a Turkish bath in Istanbul; I've sat on the heights of the Acropolis overlooking the sprawl of Athens, and I've sat in the the Collaseum of Rome. I have sat in ferries across the Ionian and Agrean Sea, a vaporetti down the Grand Canal in Venice, and boats down the Rhine River and the Bosphorous Stait. I rode the Orient Express into Istanbul and took bus from Europe to Asia. I've ridden across the entire country of Bulgaria by train (not something I would reccommend) and taken trains into Romania and Italy. I am very satisfied with what I have been able to see (and sit on) during my year abroad, but I have to say, I am looking forward to sitting on the plane home.

I will post some more pictures soon...and I apologize for the lengthy delay in any updates.

Advertisement



15th November 2007

Great Entry
An inspirational entry, Carolyn. Sounds like you are making the most of the experience. I look forward to hearing about your adventures. I also would not necessarily recommend the Bulgaria, Romania, Hungary, Italy train -- I once took it out of Istanbul. But you can always say you rode the "Orient Express."

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb