Paradiso, I mean Paros


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Paros
June 1st 2007
Saved: March 9th 2020
Edit Blog Post

(May 31, still not leaving Paros)

Got more adventurous yesterday when D and I decided to rent a 4 wheeler. So I'm from the south. This is obvious. I suppose it's assumed that we all ride 4 wheelers in the south, and hunt, drink sweet tea and farming is our only industry. Whatever. D assumes I know how to drive a 4 wheeler and me becoming more in love with my southern belle roots and my strong southern ego, I failed to tell him otherwise. I was left to navigate the beast. Thank god the learning curve on the bastard was miniscule or else... Well, I stumbled through the city streets and we took to the hills. On a mission to find the islands famous "Golden Beach" we soon discovered so much more. Endless views, mountains, small villages and then alas "Golden Beach." What a bad-ass name. Not so bad-ass beach, so after seeing the majority of the island we headed back to our secret cove to bake the day away. These journal entries might seem a bit trite but I'm vacationing biatches, more adventure later. Other than my newfound addiction to tzaiki or however the hell you spell
Secret CoveSecret CoveSecret Cove

Had secret wall with random blue door at the waters edge that lead to nowhere. I loved climbling around here
it not much action. Journal, explore, sleep, eat. Do it again. I have to say that by order of Miss Rachel I must taste the sweet waters for her. Just so you all know drinking sea water, as magical as it may seem has a strong laxative effect. Fun times. 😊 I'm out of this loungey, village-esque, quiet island on Fri. where D and I are headed to the more youthful, party island of Ios. I'll throw down for all yall. Love and Grecian Sun.
-acee

(June 1st)
As D slept the day away from a drunken stupor I decided to explore port. There was a lovely church of 100 doors which held some importance. Something about how they can only find 99 doors and if and when they find the 100th door it will be the return of the Lord. That or they will reclaim Istanbul??? Anyway, all I know is that I was grabbed upon arrival as my scantly clad ass was showing in my shorts and this was disrespectful. Oh, the shame 😊 A local hotel owner followed me in and gave me a private tour of the church, complete with history and myth. I was
See, Blue DoorSee, Blue DoorSee, Blue Door

I guess you had to be there
very thankful and even more so when he invited me to the roof of his hotel for free drinks and an amazing sunset view. I enjoyed local conversation and realized more and more that as much fun as a travel buddy is I needed to part ways with D. You miss out on so much opportunity when your with someone.
Off to Ios now. Wish me luck as it is the youthful party island of hedonistic debauchery. I wonder what more adventures await...



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

flowersflowers
flowers

I suppose these red flowers are only found here but they grow like kudzu. Much prettier by the way
ParidsioParidsio
Paridsio

This is Golden Beach, still nothing compared to my secret cove
Lava RocksLava Rocks
Lava Rocks

Okay... I'm standing at the shore, zooming in as far as my camara allows. I swam to these rocks twice. Oh yea! Climbing on them to catch your breath, freakin painful. Still have cuts. All you can do... swim back
Zoom ZoomZoom Zoom
Zoom Zoom

Having fun at 20 MPH
DmytriDmytri
Dmytri

Finding our way
Southern Girl in her elementSouthern Girl in her element
Southern Girl in her element

Told you I knew how to drive it
Me at the Blue DoorMe at the Blue Door
Me at the Blue Door

sunshine smiles, God this place is magical
Gardens everywhereGardens everywhere
Gardens everywhere

Love the Roses
BlueBlue
Blue

Everything is blue here
ReverenceReverence
Reverence

Look at the lovely skirt they gave me for prayer.


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb