Day 63


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 8th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 63

This morning, Isabelle, Jenn and I had planned to go on a 8am run, but since it was raining I guess Jenn must have slept in and Isabelle and I just did some on-the-spot work outs in the hallway, undercover between our two rooms. I worked up a bit of a sweat because we got out her jump rope, and took a shower. When I finished mine, the cleaning lady just came in and it was perfect timing for her to clean the bathroom, then my bedroom. Just past 9am we headed down to Neil’s who was making us crepes for breakfast.

He made us a savoury crepe each, filled with cheese, bacon and tomatoes, and I added ketchup to taste since we have leftover ketchup from last night’s dinner. Then he made 2 dessert crepes filled with the leftover fruit cocktail compote that we all shared between the 6 of us. After that he had 2 more plain crepes leftover, so we just added some caramel sauce onto them and shared it between me, Isabelle and Jenn. Right after, it was class time so we quickly did the dishes and headed downstairs. I was pretty tired and am just getting a little tired of everyone here, so I worked but wasn’t enthusiastic about it. Luckily we had some more washing to do, so it wasn’t just Esther telling us what to do and Ada wasting our time by not helping or telling pointless stories about herself.

At 1pm we had finished cataloging for the day, and Sara, Isabelle and I headed into to town to do some grocery shopping for ourselves and dinner we’re cooking together tonight. We bought ingredients to make a beef stew and roasted garlic mashed potatoes baked with cheese on top. Sara left us with the groceries since she had a homework date with some other girls at Panteli’s, and we left for the butcher. I got half a kilo of ground beef and froze it in two parts so we could make pasta sauces other days (it’s a pain going to the butcher because sometimes they’re closed or they have live poultry outside waiting to be killed, kinda gross!). And Sara gave us money to buy the beef cut for tonight’s stew. We bought half a kilo of beef steak, so we’re hoping it’s enough for 4 of us (Jenn, Isabelle, Sara and me). As we waited for the meats to be prepared, the butcher lady came around to us and offered us each finger cookie sandwiches dipped in chocolate with chocolate sprinkles. It was a nice snack because we were both starving for lunch! And it’s great, because only in Greece can you get a cookie while you wait at the butcher!

After that we came back, unloaded our groceries and we started to make our lunches. I boiled myself an egg and frozen veggies, while Isabelle made herself some soup since she’s not feeling that hot. I caught up on my blog, emails and cut my nails. By the time I stopped procrastinating and started on my Greek unit, it was 4:30pm and Isabelle decided she wanted to go down for a quick nap before we started making our stew. Sara B and Jenn were suppose to meet us in my room at 5pm to start on our stew so we could eat earlier than 8pm, but Isabelle over-slept by about an hour, Jenn got locked out of her own room and had to go to the Oceanis Hotel to get back in, and I wasn’t quite finished my Greek unit when Sara came in and we talked for a bit. We agreed that she would do some extra chores for another 15 mins while I tried to finish my Greek unit, and when she returned, Jenn got back too. We gossiped, complained and talked (mostly about the people in our class), and at 6:30pm Isabelle came in and we all agreed to just stir fry the beef with the veggies we bought and Isabelle still made mashed potatoes. I manned the stir fry, Jenn and Sara helped us to cut and flavour things, and Isabelle handled the potatoes.

Quarter to 8pm we sent Sara to tell people to wait for us before starting the movie in the classroom. We had all planned to go down to the classroom to watch ‘Inception’ with everyone, but we were just serving our dishes and decided to take them down to the classroom with us to eat during the movie. We layered it on our plates so it was like a make-shift shepherd’s pie (the beef stir fry underneath, with baked garlic mashed potatoes on top). We made everyone there jealous, but it was delicious! And I’m even kind of glad we didn’t got through with the stew because it would have taken 2 hours to broil AFTER we put it all together! As it was, we were eating just past 8pm while watching the movie. But luckily the movie’s about 3 hours long, so we didn’t get home or to bed until after 11pm. Someone had heard that tomorrow’s a dig day, so hopefully I’m not too tired then!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb