Day 61


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 6th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 61

This morning I got up automatically at 8:40am, got changed and Isabelle and I went out for a run at 9am. Jenn was too tired to come out with us, but we wanted to get out before it got too hot. It was suppose to be close to 27 degrees today and we wanted to enjoy it all! Our run lasted just under an hour with our stretching and workout, because I wanted to get back for 10am for a skype date I was suppose to have. The date never ended up happening, so instead Isabelle and I made a hash for breakfast and ate it while we booked hostels for Athens and Paris.

By 12noon, my date still wasn’t online, so we decided to get out and enjoy the sun. It was already coming out at the end of our run, so it was perfect timing to go to the beach! We spent a good 2 and a half hours out there, then got a frozen coffee ice cream cup from Fotis Family and walked back to our places. We took showers, and our ice creams were finally ready to be eaten. I snacked a bit on some nuts, Isabelle came over and had a snack too, then at 4pm we headed to Hettie’s for a cooking lesson. Today she taught us how to make lentil soup and almond cake. She sent us home with all the food and we went back to on girl’s place and ate it as a group. It was just past 6pm when we were finished, so Isabelle and I went back to our rooms to change for our small group dinner for Neil’s last weekend here.

We met up with Jerry, Christos, Neil and Geoffrey at the classroom. Jerry and Christos drove us in 2 cars to a restaurant just past Skala. It was in the middle of nowhere, but there was a group of young people already seated for a dinner party there too. Jerry had reserved us a table, and for good reason, because the place filled up pretty fast (something we’re not use to seeing in our small sleepy town of Poros, now deserted of tourists). Jerry ordered us a huge pile of appetizers (2 plates of an assortment of appies: mini spanikopitas, mini cheese pies, meat balls, onion rings and sausage; 2 plates of saganaki; tzatziki; garlic bread; fried zucchini; chef salad; mix big plate salad; Greek salad; and extra plate of sausages), some wines (a rose and a white), and for a main I had a chicken filet (served with fries…as usual). It was all delicious! The chicken was moist, tender and melt in your mouth; flavoured on the spit with oregano and olive oil, with just a touch of lemon on the side, which I added. For dessert they gave us 2 plates of apple slices covered in honey and cinnamon (just like the Greek doughnuts but a healthier version). Jerry only let us pay 7 EU each for dinner…since we’re poor starving students, while he and Geoffrey split the rest of the bill.

After dinner they drove us into Skala, and we walked along the beach, star gazed, then walked some of the same path Jenn, Mae and I took to walk back to Poros. We were cold and uncomfortably full, so the walk was unwelcomed and the drive to and from Poros was very windy. We spent a good hour out there, and we got back into Poros just past 12midnight. They decided to drive us all to Kivatos, because Neil wanted to spend his last Saturday night there. I only stayed for about an hour, before the second hand smoke started to really irritate me and Isabelle and Neil walked back with me.

When we got back, I put on a pot of boiling water to help with our digestion before bed. I changed into my PJ’s, caught up with some emails and my blog, then washed up for bed. I skyped with my boyfriend just before bed; I had a tough time getting to sleep because my stomach was still aching from dinner (too much food and the windy drive didn’t help) and my lungs were exhausted from all the smoke at Kivatos. So he helped me de-stress and get ready for bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb