How much does a Grecian urn?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Corfu
April 25th 2008
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My previous blog looked forward to a leisurely cycle into Bari and a ferry to Corfu.
It didn't quite turn out that way.
Buouyed by finding a campsite 20 kms north of Brindisi, a sunny day and the prospect of a much cheaper ferry, I went for the 120 km ride and, porridged-up, made it, to find the camping book had lied and the campsite was shut, so a long, cheap day became longer (145 kms) and expensive, with a hotel in Brindisi and NO ferry the following day, so a train into Bari and the original ferry after all. Hmph.
The extra day in Matera had been worth it, with a visit to a contemporary sculpture museum housed in one of the cave buildings and one or two cracking exhibits.
So now Corfu. Not quite what I'd hoped for. It's so geared to mass tourism I feel like I'm viewed as a walking wallet (which I'm not), but I'm staying put for a while simply so I can pore over the internet and try to work out where I'm going with this trip. Deeply unexciting, but needed!
It's Greek Orthodox Easter, which tomorrow will involve the locals throwing clay pots from great heights. Smashing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb