Greece Day 5


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Epirus » Ioannina
April 5th 2011
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we drove to Ioannia (YAH-nen-nah), a 4.5 hour drive.
Around noon we stopped in a little town, don't even know the name. Had some coffee, took a walk. Then we drove on, oh-ing and ah-ing over the pretty cliffs...

We stopped in a little village (Nea Moussiotitsa, Agios Dimitrios) while still in the mountains, it was a little place right off the road. The BEST coffee I have had in... forever... and this yummy dish called Tyropita me filo kroustas (τυρóπιτα). Basically Cheese Pie with phylo crust. It was so good. Talking to the guy who seated/served us, his mom made it. And that, two coffees and two espressos, less than 10 euros. Nice!



So now we are at Dovitel in Perama.


The hotel is very pretty, a bit warm though. I tried to get the AC to work, no dice. So I have the door open, hoping to catch a stray breeze. It is a bit stuffy.

We walked down through the little town (Perama), see what is here. Some very pretty silver. This whole area is known for the silversmithing. After that, we drove into Ioannia, walked on the water front around the castle, and stopped for dinner. What else? Lamb! This time with spinach. Yum!



Sigh. Too bad we had no idea the "P" street sign was NOT parking, but permit! Now we have to find the municipal building tomorrow before we leave, so we can pay this thing...

I wish I had done things differently. No way I could have known. Now I do. If I get to come back here someday, I will skip some places, and focus more on others. And learn some greek.



I need to accept that old men will not serve us because we were unaccompanied by men. It is the way of their generation. I need to accept many believe all American women are like the "stars" of Hollywood. I sometimes feel like screaming "not all American women run around naked having sex with anything that moves!". I have to learn to shrug it off, and take comfort in the fact we are helping to change the misconception.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb