Feeling Better!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Rethymno
March 26th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

RETHYMNON Day 65



I feel much better this morning and was even able to eat my breakfast. Even though I was unable to see Iraklion I am stilling leaving this city to see another. I took the morning bus to Rethymnon, which is just down the coast from Iraklion. I arrived and went straight to the hostel to drop my bags.

Rethymnon is a small town and is really cute. It has a small beach that was a little dirty from the winter but from what I understand it is very lovely in the summer. The beach meets up with the Venetian port that is lined with little cafes and restaurants. I headed to the Mona Lisa café that sells a sheep’s milk ice cream. Since I can’t have milk products I was really excited to try this ice cream and it was actually really good.

All over Crete I have noticed a lot of shops and restaurants that have budgies in cages outside of their stores. I don’t know why? Do budgies come from Greece? Either way they are still cute. Also, throughout Greece there are decorated candles for sale. Some of them are really pretty while others are just candles with Barbie dolls stuck to them. I don’t know if this is for the soon arrival of Easter or is something that is sold year round.

With my ice cream in hand I headed to the old fortress. I walked the road that surrounds the fortress and came across lovely views and a very cute budgie. I don’t know if he was a wild budgie or simply flew the coup. But he didn’t fly away when I walked up to him. I left the cute budgie and continued on my walk around the town.

As I headed back to the hostel I passed a little boy that had a decorated candle that he was carrying proudly in his hand.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



17th April 2010

Feeling good - and strange candles
Do those candles have super heros on them. Very funny. I'm so glad you are feeling better and can continue to enjoy your travels.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb